Skip to Main Content

MSJC Library

New! - Using AI in Research

Our MSJC Online Library Orientation now includes new content that addresses AI!

  • Academic Integrity and AI - Students will understand what academic integrity looks like with specific information on the potential impact of AI on academic integrity.  
  • Developing a Research Focus - Your students will learn effective ways to tackle a research assignment: pre-research strategies, develop early search terms, refining their search scope, using AI in pre-research (focus is on the considerations, uses, and cautions of using AI), and concept maps.
  • Choosing and Using Keywords - New content related to AI has been added to this tutorial addressing the use of AI for keyword development, including evaluating the relevance and reliability of AI generated terms.
  • Fact Checking - This tutorial will help students understand how to fact check a multitude of resources, with a focus on online sources, when conducting research. The tutorial discusses lateral reading, how to evaluate for reliability and balance, tracing claims to original sources, and the implications of AI for fact checking.

For more information on AI in the classroom, check out our LibGuide: AI, ChatGPT, and Other Generative Tools: For Faculty

We also have a similar LibGuide you can share with your students that includes issues around using AI responsibly, including citations and prompt engineering. AI, ChatGPT, and Other Generative Tools: For Students

Library Instruction

General Instruction Sessions

Use the Library Instruction Request Form to set up an instruction session for your class. Please schedule as early as possible to ensure librarian availability on your preferred date and time.

  • Broad overview of library resources, services, and research skills. Sessions typically focus on search strategies using the library catalog and databases but can be customized to class assignments.
  • Take place during class time and instructors must be present.
  • 45-60 minutes long.

Online Library Orientation

  • The MSJC Online Library Orientation includes a broad overview of library resources and research skills broken into six modules.
  • Accessed via the library homepage or linked in Canvas course shells. Contact librarians for information on embedding gradable quizzes in Canvas.
  • Self-paced.

Virtual Library Workshops

  • Targeted to specific databases or research skills.
  • Workshops scheduled throughout the fall and spring semesters. See the workshop calender for current schedule.
  • Take place outside of class time via Zoom.
  • 30 minutes or less.

Video Tutorials

  • Check out brief research video tutorials on our YouTube channel!
  • Request a custom video on a topic of your choosing.

Identifying Library Materials to Support Your Classes

Librarians can partner with you to identify resources that not only support your classes and help minimize costs for students, but that enhance the library's collections so students successfully complete your assignments. Librarians can investigate options for books or eBooks, databases, streaming films, and more.

Working with librarians to review existing materials and suggest removals and/or additions to improve library collections is also an approved Flex credit activity! Please contact your campus librarians to discuss.


New Service! Purchasing EBSCO eBooks

Faculty can now browse the EBSCO eBook catalog to identify titles for use in courses. Please check out our EBSCO eBook Selector Platform for Faculty LibGuide for information!


To request or suggest a resource for purchase, please email librarians with the relevant information:

  • Book, film, or database title
  • Author, editor, or producer
  • ISBN or ISSN (if known)

MVC Library

SJC Library

Textbooks & Reserves

The MSJC Libraries provide students free access to textbooks and faculty-reserved course materials. Some textbooks may be available for students to borrow. Call 951-346-2292 or text 951-783-4977 to inquire.

The Libraries try to purchase copies of textbooks and other required books. However, the Libraries usually do not have dedicated textbook funding or a complete list of required materials so cannot guarantee that all textbooks are available.

Most textbooks are held on open shelving for student self-service. Specialized reserve materials that cannot easily be shelved or that are limited for use only by students in designated courses are held behind the Circulation Desk. Students and faculty must present ID to check out reserve items, typically for 2 hours inside the library only. Examples of reserve materials include:

  • Journals and other periodicals
  • Physical objects and/or supplemental items (e.g., geological samples)
  • CD’s and DVD’s (must be licensed and closed-captioned originals; the library cannot accept copies)

Faculty may also submit personal copies of textbooks and other materials to the library for student use. Please submit materials as early as possible to allow time for processing* and shelving, particularly at the beginning of the semester. Library staff are available to accept materials during semester breaks. Please contact staff at the Circulation Desk for assistance.

*Textbooks and reserve items are processed with identifying stickers and tape, which may damage covers.

OER

OER Logo

Open Educational Resources are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions.

--William and Flora Hewlett Foundation


Check out our guides on Open Educational Resources and Open Educational Resources by Discipline!