Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LGBTQ+ Studies

Library Research

Heinonline LGBTQ+ Rights Database 

 As the newest addition to HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite, LGBTQ+ Rights is dedicated to charting the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Titles in this collection are grouped into subcollections focused on specific areas of society, examining issues from same-sex marriage to employment discrimination, military service, and more. 

A unique interactive piece within this collection is the Timeline charting the American gay rights movement from 1950 up to present day. Pulling in documents from HeinOnline, photographs from the Library of Congress, and YouTube videos, this timeline allows users to both visualize the progression of the gay rights movement as well as how HeinOnline documents connect to this overall historical narrative.

CQ Researcher LGBTQ Rights Report (2022)

Several states passed bills this year on LGBTQ-related education, transgender care and sports participation. As more states propose similar actions, the Biden administration is taking steps to support transgender citizens through executive orders that expand protections for transgender students, such as allowing them to use bathrooms that align with their gender identity and ensure correct pronouns are used. Meanwhile, the Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade, the landmark case that provided access to safe and legal abortion for 50 years. LGBTQ advocates are concerned about the court’s decision, which challenges the constitutional right to privacy — and, especially, Justice Clarence Thomas’ concurring opinion that the court should reconsider cases guaranteeing the rights to same-sex marriage and same-sex consensual relations. In response, Democrats in Congress as looking to codify same-sex marriage into law.

A-Z Databases

MSJC Library provides access to nearly 100 databases that members of the campus community can use to search for sources on their research topic.

Start Your Research Here




Reference Sources

Reference Databases are a great place to do background research on a topic. They include encyclopedias, dictionaries, maps, diagrams, art, and photos. Use the search box to find information on your topic. Type in a single "keyword" or do an Advanced Search to search for multiple terms. You can start with the LGBTQ+ reference database listed here:

Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History

This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.

You can also use any of the general reference databases below:

Ebooks

Search our eBook collection directly to find accessible books on a topic.

EBSCO eBooks

Springer eBooks