Open Education Resources (OER)

InTechOpen is the world's largest Science, Technology and Medicine Open Access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004.

Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practiced in the clinical setting.

Author: Sherri Melrose PhD, RN, Athabasca University, Caroline Park PhD, RN, Athabasca University, Beth Perry PhD, RN, Athabasca University

From Open Textbook Library

Search for Health & Nursing textbooks

Health Education Course
By: Virgil Bourassa and Fred Mednick

Many of the books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded for free in PDF format. Search the Health and Medicine collection. Site requires that you provide name and email.

Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know by Susan E. Lowey

This publication of the second edition of Critical Care Nursing of Infants and Children is another important milestone in the evolving development of pediatric critical care nursing. 2001

From Lumen Learning

From Skills Commons

The mission of the U-M Medical School is to educate students, physicians, and biomedical scholars and to provide a spectrum of comprehensive knowledge, research, patient care and service of the highest quality to the people of the State of Michigan and beyond.

GW School of Nursing is pleased to share this collection of Open Educational Resources (OERs) for use by nurse educators worldwide.

MedEdPORTAL Publications is a free publication service provided by the Association of American Medical Colleges in partnership with the American Dental Education Association.

Locate free information for nursing including activities, audio, video, free course, course, and community.

Welcome to the MERLOT Health Sciences Portal, an educational resource for teaching and learning. This site includes over 40 different subjects including dentistry, nursing, nutrition, pharmacy and radiology.

Start searching for health sciences at this page.

The Portal of Geriatrics Online Education (POGOe) is free collection of expert-contributed geriatrics educational materials for educators and learners. POGOe's mission is to encourage the free exchange of teaching and assessment materials in order to promote geriatrics education in the fields of geriatrics and gerontology. You will find teaching tools, images, videos, a question bank, and much more.

From Skills Commons

Provided by MedlinePlus, "boost your health knowledge by playing with the 35 interactive health games."

From MedlinePlus.
"Assess your health with interactive tools such as calculators, quizzes, and questionnaires. You can check your risk for heart disease, calculate your ideal weight and body mass, find out how many calories your favorite exercise burns, and more."

Interactive tutorials in the area of nursing. You will find 25 free learning objects that can help you learn, study, or teach Nursing.

Health videos made available to you by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy and body systems, surgical procedures and health news. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.

Provides video presentations from 2009 to the present about health and medicine.

The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.

You can search the entire collection or search by specific collection.