Skip to Main Content

Citation Guide

This guide gives overviews and sample citations for MLA and APA citation styles.

Chicago Style 17th Edition

Print books:

              Salman Rushdie, The Ground beneath Her Feet (New York: Henry Holt, 1999), 24.

              Andrew Harnack and Eugene Kleppinger, Online! A Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources, 3rd ed. (New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2000).

              Ori Z. Soltes, ed., Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages (London: Phillip Wilson, 1999), 280.

              Harnack and Kleppinger, Online!, 57.

              Rushdie, Ground beneath Her Feet, 74-75.

              Soltes, Georgia, 45.

Harnack, Andrew, and Eugene Kleppinger. Online! A Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources. 3rd ed.

              New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2000.

Rushdie, Salman. The Ground beneath Her Feet. New York: Henry Holt, 1999.

Soltes, Ori Z., ed. Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages. London: Philip Wilson, 1999.

Online book:

              Stefan Hüfner, ed., Very High Resolution Photoelectron Spectroscopy (New York: Springer, 2007), 85, http://www.springerlink.com.

              Hüfner, Very High Resolution Photoelectron Spectroscopy.

Hüfner, Stefan, ed. Very high resolution photoelectron spectroscopy. New York: Springer, 2007. http://www.springerlink.com.

Book chapters:

               James B. Asbrook and Carol Rausch Albright, “The Frontal Lobes, Intending, and Purposeful God,” chap. 7 in The Humanizing Brain (Cleveland, OH: Pilgrim Press, 1997).

              Glenn Gould, “Streisand as Schwarzkopf,” in The Glenn Gould Reader, ed. Tim Page (New York: Vintage, 1984), 310.

Gould, 310.

              Asbrook and Albright, "Frontal Lobes," 152.

Asbrook, James B., and Carol Rausch Albright. “The Frontal Lobes, Intending, and Purposeful God.” Chap. 7 in The Humanizing                        Brain. Cleveland, OH: Pilgrim Press, 1997.

Gould, Glenn. “Streisand as Schwarzkopf.” In The Glenn Gould Reader, edited by Tim Page, 308-11.

             New York: Vintage, 1984.

Scholarly article with DOI assigned:

              William J. Novak, “The Myth of the ‘Weak’ American State,” American Historical Review 113, no. 3 (June 2008): 758, https://doi.org/10.1086/ahr.113.3.752.

              Novak, "Myth of the 'Weak' American State," 770.

Novak, William J. "The Myth of the ‘Weak’ American State." American Historical Review 113, no. 3 (June 2008): 752-72.                                      

https://doi.org/10.1086/ahr.113.3.752.

Journal article with URL and access date:

             Wilfried Karmaus and John F. Riebow, “Storage of Serum, in Plastic and Glass Containers May Alter the Serum Concentration of Polychlorinated Biphenyls,” Environmental Health Perspectives 112 (May 2004): 645, accessed November 22, 2011, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3435987.

              Karmaus and Riebow, "Storage of Serum," 647.

Karmaus, Wilfried, and John F. Riebow. “Storage of Serum in Plastic and Glass Containers May Alter the Serum Concentration of Polychlorinated 

Biphenyls.” Environmental Health Perspectives 112 (May 2004): 643-47. Accessed November 22, 2011. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3435987.

Journal article in print:

Sally G. McMillen, “Antebellum Southern Fathers and the Health Care of Children,” Journal of Southern History 60, no. 3 (1994): 520-21.

McMillen, "Antebellum Southern Fathers," 530.

McMillen, Sally G. “Antebellum Southern Fathers and the Health Care of Children.” Journal of Southern History 60, no. 3 (1994): 513-32.

 

Popular Articles and Newspapers Articles:

  • While the CMOS does not require writers to include access dates for online source citations (14.12), the Turabian Manual for student writers does (15.4.1.3). Please check with your instructor if you are uncertain whether or not to include them.

From the publication's website:

Pat Borzi, “Retirement Discussion Begins Anew for Favre,” New York Times, January 25, 2010, 

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/26/sports/football/26vikings.html?emc=etal

Lauren Schiller, "How to Get Even More Women Elected," Salon, November 9, 2017, accessed December 7, 

2017, https://www.salon.com/2017/11/09/how-to-get-even-more-women-elected.

Borzi, Pat. “Retirement Discussion Begins Anew for Favre.” New York Times, January 25, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/26/sports/football/26vikings.html?emc=etal.

Schiller, Lauren. "How to Get Even More Women Elected." Salon, November 9, 2017. Accessed December 7, 2017. 

https://www.salon.com/2017/11/09/how-to-get-even-more-women-elected.

From a library database:

Beth Daley, “A Tale of a Whale: Scientists, Museum Are Eager to Study, Display Rare Creature,” Boston Globe, June 11, 2002, 

accessed June 12, 2002, LexisNexis Academic.

Andre Laguerre, “Clues to a Princess's Choice,” Life, October 10, 1955, accessed June 26, 2009, EBSCOhost.

Daley, Beth. “A Tale of a Whale: Scientists, Museum Are Eager to Study, Display Rare Creature.” Boston Globe, June 11, 2002. Accessed June 

12, 2002. LexisNexis Academic.

Laguerre, Andre. “Clues to a Princess's Choice.” Life, October 10, 1955. Accessed June 26, 2009. EBSCOhost.

In print:

Gretchen Morgenson, “Applying a Discount to Good Earnings News,” New York Times, April 23, 2000.

Karl Vick, “Cuba on the Cusp,” Time, March 26, 2015.

Morgenson, Gretchen. “Applying a Discount to Good Earnings News,” New York Times, April 23, 2000.

Vick, Karl. “Cuba on the Cusp.” Time, March 26, 2015.

Historical Newspaper Article from Library Database: 

Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date 

 of Publication, https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date 

of Publication. https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Government Documents from a Website:

Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee, Title of Government Publication, Date of copyright or modification or access, 

Page Number [if available], URL. 

Bibliography Entry:

Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee. Title of Government Publication. Date of copyright or modification or 

access. URL.

Statistics from Website

Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Document, Statistics Canada, Date of copyright or modification or access, URL. 

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Document. Statistics Canada. Date of copyright or modification or access. URL.

Websites: 

 Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Website, Name of Owner or Sponsor of the Website [if different from Title of Website], Date of

 Copyright or modification or access, URL. 

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Website. Name of Owner or Sponsor of the Website [if different from Title of Website]. Date of copyright 

or modification or access. URL.

See the following links below for further assistance.