Citation Guide

MLA documents sources using a template of core elements - like author, title, and publication date - that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers new chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language. Included are step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited and a new appendix with example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more.

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style used by researchers, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. The Publication Manual guides users through the scholarly writing process. It includes resources on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials. Includes reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources, sample tables and figures, and guidance on how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism.

The seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"-- 9th edition includes updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources. Part 1 covers the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material.