MLA Handbook (9th edition) by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format. Works are published today in a dizzying variety of ways: a novel, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to as an audiobook. Writers of research papers routinely need to know how to cite works on Web sites, videos on platforms like YouTube, interviews and other works created by multiple authors, journal articles contained in databases, online images, posts on social media sites, song lyrics, and more. Instead of providing separate instructions for each format, the MLA's unique, innovative approach recommends one set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source. This groundbreaking edition of the MLA's best-selling handbook is short and designed for easy use. It guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research and thus focuses on the key skills of information and digital literacy. It then shows writers how to cite sources in their writing, offering detailed guidance on in-text citations, quoting and paraphrasing, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Intended for students, teachers, librarians, and advanced scholars, the handbook is an indispensable resource in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields.
MLA Handbook (8th edition) by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format. Works are published today in a dizzying variety of ways: a novel, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to as an audiobook. Writers of research papers routinely need to know how to cite works on Web sites, videos on platforms like YouTube, interviews and other works created by multiple authors, journal articles contained in databases, online images, posts on social media sites, song lyrics, and more. Instead of providing separate instructions for each format, the MLA's unique, innovative approach recommends one set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source. This groundbreaking edition of the MLA's best-selling handbook is short and designed for easy use. It guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research and thus focuses on the key skills of information and digital literacy. It then shows writers how to cite sources in their writing, offering detailed guidance on in-text citations, quoting and paraphrasing, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Intended for students, teachers, librarians, and advanced scholars, the handbook is an indispensable resource in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields.
Citing your sources is a critical part of research writing. Representing the work, words, or ideas of others as your own, intentionally or unintentionally, is plagiarism and it can carry serious consequences. Be sure to review your instructor's syllabus and MSJC's Student Conduct page for information on the consequences of not including proper citations. When in doubt, cite your source!
For more information, check out the resources below.
Citing your sources is a critical part of research writing. Representing the work, words, or ideas of others as your own, intentionally or unintentionally, is plagiarism and it can carry serious consequences. Be sure to review your instructor's syllabus and MSJC's Student Conduct page for information on the consequences of not including proper citations. When in doubt, cite your source!
For more information, check out the resources below.
Once you open an article, most library databases offer tools to copy citations. You can usually find this option as part of a tools menu or some kind of icon.
Be sure to check computer-generated citations for accuracy before listing them in your References/Works Cited page, as some may not be 100% accurate.
|
Ebsco Databases |
|
|
Opposing Viewpoints |
 |
