LibGuides: Open Educational Resources by Discipline: Life Span Psychology

Open Textbook Library

Introduction to Psychology - OpenTextbook Library
Written by Charles Stangor, professor and associate chair of psychology within the Social, Decisional, and Organizational Sciences Specialty Area at the University of Maryland, this text will help students organize their thinking about psychology at a conceptual level. Chapter six focuses on human growth and development.

Noba Project

Introduction to Psychology
This collection allows you to browse from over 80 psychology textbook chapters, including many related to life span psychology, to create your own lesson or textbook.

Boundless

Boundless eTextbooks cover the following subjects: accounting, algebra, art history, biology, business, chemistry, communications, economics, finance, management, marketing, microbiology, physics, physiology, political science, psychology, sociology, U.S. history, and writing.

Boundless Psychology
The "Human Development" chapter of this textbook covers theories of development and cognitive and physical development from infancy through old age. Includes chapter quiz and PowerPoint template.

TedEd: The difference between classical and operant conditioning

YouTube Channels

Developmental Psychology
This YouTube channel is "generated automatically by YouTube's video discovery system." It includes videos on topics such as language acquisition, personality, emotional development, childhood, aging, and more.

Saylor Foundation

Saylor is a unique resource that can be used in a couple of different ways.

Anyone wanting to take a class and not get any credit can take a "course" at Saylor.
Resources that they use can be viewed to incorporate into your class.
Students can use this as supplemental material.

PSYCH302A: Lifespan Development
"This course emphasizes that development proceeds throughout all stages of the lifespan... Within each unit, you will learn about key processes and issues related first to physical development, then to cognition (mental processes), and then to personality."

Open Course Library

Open Course Library was developed by the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges and is funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the Washington State Legislature. This material is created under a Creative Commons license with the intent that you take it and make it your own.

PSYC200: Lifespan Psychology
"Growth and development through the life span including physical, social, cognitive and neurological development. Topics covered included daycare, education, disabilities, parenting, types of families, gender identity and roles, career decisions, illnesses and treatments, aging, retirement, generativity, and dying."

Additional Online Course Modules

PPM 100: Human Growth and Development
This Tufts University OpenCourseWare course enables students to "study the subject matter in two ways: by following various developmental "tracks" longitudinally from birth to death and by studying the individual at various cross-sectional stages/ages of life."
Introduction to Psychology
Lumen Learning's Introduction to Psychology open course includes a section on growth and development, including quiz questions and an essay assignment.

Course Podcasts

PSYCH140: Developmental Psychology
"This course explores the development of children from birth to adolescence, in a wide range of areas including biological, cognitive, linguistic, social, and personality development. It also covers the effects of genes, experience, and social context on children's development." From the University of California, Berkeley.
PSYC 209: Life Cycle Development
"This material includes integration of the basic concepts and principles of physical, cognitive, and psychosocial development at each major stage of life: prenatal, infancy, toddlerhood, preschool, middle childhood, adolescence, young adulthood, middle adulthood, and old age. The podcasts presented in this series will include live class recordings of lecture presentations and additional pre-recorded segments that focus on frequently asked questions and concepts that often provide a challenge for many students." From the Harrisburg Area Community College.

Tutorials

Life-Span Development
This companion site to the McGraw-Hill textbook is a mini-course in itself. Each chapter link includes concept summaries, activities, quizzes, and more.

Games

Lifespan Development Jeopardy
Choose the number of teams, edit questions to fit your course, and test lifespan psychology knowledge with this free interactive Jeopardy game.

OpenStax College

Free Online Psychology Videos, Interactive Media, and More
This collection of short video clips and interactive games, simulations, and quizzes cover a variety of psychology topics, including lifespan development, learning, personality, gender, perception, and memory.

Interactives

Life Span Development
This interactive learning tool from Annenberg Learner explores cognitive, biological, and psychosocial developments throughout the life span.

Open Educational Resources by Discipline