Open Educational Resources by Discipline

"The SpinTX video archive provides access to selected video clips and transcripts from the Spanish in Texas Corpus, a collection of video interviews with bilingual Spanish speakers in Texas"

"Audiria is an online tool which freely supports your learning of Spanish, offering podcasts to increase your knowledge of the language."

"On Duolingo, you'll learn a version of Spanish closer to what you'd hear in Latin America than in Spain, but the differences are relatively small and everybody will be able to understand you."

"The Mixxer is a free educational site for language learners hosted by Dickinson College. The Mixxer is designed to connect language learners around the world so that everyone is both student and teacher."

SPANISH 103 is an introductory course to the Spanish language and culture.

Open Educational Resources in World Languages

"'This course is part of a two-semester sequence (Spanish I & II). Each course is divided into twelve thematic lessons, with ample opportunity for reentry and review. Completing both courses will require two semesters"

"Spanish Grammar in Context is a unique website that provides detailed grammar explanations and examples of the Spanish language with accompanying practice questions. Unlike traditional reference grammars, each topic is explained using authentic video examples."

" The collection includes hundreds of video clips culled from interviews of native and heritage speakers of Spanish living in Texas."

Students will learn vocabulary related to greetings and farewells, courtesy expressions, college courses, professions, family relationships, pastimes, city places, numbers, days of the week, months and how to tell time

"Students will learn vocabulary related to transportation and lodging, days of the week, months, seasons, weather expressions, clothing, colors, daily routine, personal hygiene, sequencing expressions, foods, meals and adjectives that describe food."

"Students will learn vocabulary related to celebrations and the stages of life, personal relationships, health and medical conditions and parts of the body, the car and its accessories, computers and electronic products, the parts of the house and household chores and table settings."

"This collection includes cultural-themed modules (in English and in Spanish) aimed at the introductory Spanish language classroom (high school and college). It includes reading passages and lesson plans that emphasize Hispanic culture through authentic material (such as photographs, images, letters, documents, etc.)"

"Destinos teaches speaking, listening, and comprehension skills in Spanish. This telenovela, or Spanish soap opera, immerses students in a mysterious and entertaining story while viewing everyday situations with native speakers. It also introduces the cultures, accents, and dialects of Mexico, Spain, Argentina, and Puerto Rico, helping students understand a range of Spanish and appreciate many Hispanic cultures."

" Gives students the necessary language skills to successfully employ Spanish in a variety of social situations."

Several open textbooks on topics related to learning the Spanish language.

"Textbook for beginning Spanish courses that covers all of the major grammar rules, moving slowly and offering exercises and plenty of examples as well as vocabulary and phrases"

"Throughout this course, you will find fact sections that contain facts about Spanish-speaking countries or their cultures." The site operates as a wiki, so it is continually updated by participants."

'In the Wrong Way to Learn Spanish, we focus on learning by doing. The method does have a textbook, but it is there to be used as a guide rather than the main structured teaching of school-books."

"Welcome learners to Spanish 1, your aid in learning the Spanish language. This course is designed for English speakers."