Skip to Main Content

Nursing and Health Research

Magazine, Newspaper and Journal Articles

Use the following databases to find articles about your topic. These databases index journals, newspapers, and other materials.

Note: off-campus access to these databases requires that you sign on using your mymsjc username and password.

Great databases to start your research:

  • EbscoHost (Includes Medline)- Search from various research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. Use the keyword search technique to get the best results and limit your search to scholarly sources.
    • ​​​​​​​***Remember to click on "Advanced Search" before you begin.***
  • Google Scholar

What Else is There?

  • Nursing Reference Center Plus includes Evidenced-based care sheets/care plans; Core Measure topics; disease, conditions, and drug topics; Leadership & Management CEs; nursing management topics; regulatory topics; risk management topics; skills with videos/competency checklists and images; patient education handouts; Full text (PDFs); Create a citation; set an alert for topic updates, and it has a mobile app. 

    • All "Quick Lessons" include the following sub-headings: Description/Etiology, facts and Figures, risk factors, signs and symptoms, clinical presentation, assessment, treatment goals, food for thought, red flags, what to tell the patient or patient's family, references, and reviewer(s).

    • Includes Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses under "More," select "Books," and type in "HJ NA7Q"

  • Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)  "Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management."

Click here to view a list of all of the databases.

Note: By default Ebsco searches all of the following database: Searching: Academic Search Complete, Academic Search Ultimate, Alt HealthWatch, America: History and Life with Full Text, Business Source Elite, eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), ERIC, GreenFILE, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, History Reference Source, History Reference Source eBook Subscription, MagillOnLiterature Plus, MAS Reference eBook Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, MasterFILE Complete, MasterFILE Premier Reference eBook Subscription (EBSCOhost), MEDLINE, Military & Government Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Regional Business News, Time Magazine Archive, MLA International Bibliography with Full Text, APA PsycTests.

Don't Forget Your Boolean Operators

Are you having trouble understanding? Go back and watch the tutorials. It will only take a few moments of your time, and I promise you, it'll be worth it.