A-Z Databases

The most frequently-used databases

Academic Video Online

Curated for the educational experience, the streaming videos in this collection include a variety of content-types (documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.)

Ancestry

Ancestry® Library Edition provides primary sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, etc. Covers North America, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia and more.

CQ Researcher (Hot Topics)

This link opens in a new window

Updated weekly, CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.

Credo Reference

This link opens in a new window

Contains content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject with detailed entries and images (art, diagrams, interactive maps and photos).

EBSCO

This link opens in a new window

Cross-search content from multiple EBSCO databases. Includes eBooks and articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.

Films on Demand

This link opens in a new window

Films On Demand streaming video collection features educational titles in dozens of subject areas.

Gale Power Search

Cross-search content from multiple Gale databases.

Issues & Controversies (Hot Topics)

Covers background and points of view about hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

Issues & Controversies in History (Hot Topics)

Provides background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for major conflicts and debates in American and World History. Contains primary sources.

JSTOR

This link opens in a new window

Scholarly journal database covering many disciplines within the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Kanopy Streaming Video

More than 26,000 films including documentaries, The Criterion Collection, Great Courses, PBS, indie and world cinema.

Literature Cross Search

Cross searches LitFinder and Literature Resource Center. See "more info" below for detailed database descriptions.

Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, criticisms and literary analysis, audio interviews, and reviews on over 130,000 writers from all eras and around the world.

MLA International Bibliography

From the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.

New York Times

All-digital access to the New York Times from 1851 to present. Includes Spanish version.

Opposing Viewpoints (Hot Topics)

This link opens in a new window

Opposing Viewpoints is a source for information on today's hottest social and controversial issues.

PBS Video Collection, 4th Edition

This collection of more than 1,500 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS.

Science Direct

Scholarly articles from a variety of journals in the health and life sciences.

Wall Street Journal

Unlimited digital access to WSJ.com and the WSJ apps. Includes WSJ newsletters & podcasts. Requires creating an account using ONLY your MSJC email address.

View All View Less

Articles

Newspaper

E-Book

Streaming Video

Enter your MSJC username & password when accessing from off-campus

Tutorial

Streaming Audio

A-Z Databases

EBSCO databases have a new look beginning in January 2025!

Popular Databases

Icon Legend