African American Experience
Supports research and scholarship in the field of African American Studies with a library of works. Includes the complete WPA Slave Narratives, more than 9,000 articles, biographies, primary documents, and media.
African American History Online
Covers more than 500 years of the African-American experience, including historical videos, primary sources, biographies, images, and more.
Black Life in America
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience as recorded by the news media from 1704 to today. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources.
African American Studies/Black/Africana Studies Journals
Browse African American/Africana/Black Studies journals available to the MJSC campus community.
MSJC Library provides access to over 100 databases that members of the campus community can use to search for sources on their research topic.
Reference Databases are a great place to do background research on a topic. They include encyclopedias, dictionaries, maps, diagrams, art, and photos. Use the search box to find information on your topic. Type in a single "keyword" or do an Advanced Search to search for multiple terms. You can start with the Black Studies reference book listed here:
African American Culture: An Encyclopedia of People, Traditions, and Customs
African American Culture: An Encyclopedia of People, Traditions, and Customs covers virtually every aspect of African American cultural expression, addressing subject matter that ranges from how African culture was preserved during slavery hundreds of years ago to the richness and complexity of African American culture in the post-Obama era.The most comprehensive reference work on African American culture to date, the multivolume set covers such topics as black contributions to literature and the arts, music and entertainment, religion, and professional sports. It also provides coverage of less-commonly addressed subjects, such as African American fashion practices and beauty culture, the development of jazz music across different eras, and African American business.
Search our eBook collection directly to find accessible books on a topic.