The Schomburg Center
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in Harlem, one of The New York Public Library’s renowned research libraries, is a world-leading cultural institution devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences. Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global Black experience through online materials at the Schomburg Center created and curated by our staff and librarians.
Visitors can locate online articles, digital exhibitions, photographs, audio and video streams, historical projects, and external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
The Hiphop Archive at Harvard University
The Hip Hop Archive at Harvard University was created in 2002 to facilitate and encourage the pursuit of knowledge, art, culture, and responsible leadership through Hiphop. The site has an extensive bibliography of hiphop scholarly and cultural materials. The site also has song lyrics, album information, and a blog.
Bay Area Television Archive (Black Panther Party Collection)
Film from bay area news stations and privately produced footage relating mainly - but not exclusively - to the Black Panther Party's Oakland Chapter, from the 1960s & 70s.
Oakland Public Library, African American Museum and Library at Oakland
The mission of the African American Museum & Library at Oakland is to discover, preserve, interpret, and share the historical and cultural experiences of African Americans in Northern California for present and future generations. AAMLO’s archival collections are a unique resource on the history of African Americans in Northern California and the Bay Area. The archives include over 160 collections documenting prominent families, pioneers, churches, and social and political organizations.
African Activist Archive
The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
F.B. Eyes Digital Archive: FBI Files on African American authors and literary institutions obtained through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
The F.B. Eyes Digital Archive makes available for the first time a collection of 51 FBI files on prominent African American authors and literary institutions, many of them unearthed through William J. Maxwell's Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests. Now part of the public domain as unrestricted U.S. government documents, these once-secret files are arranged on this site as they were at FBI national headquarters, under the names of individual authors and institutions. The F.B. Eyes Digital Archive was built at Washington University in St. Louis (WUSTL) in conjunction with William J. Maxwell's F.B. Eyes book project.