These are reports from well-respected research centers that provide background on some of the propositions.
“People Are Simply Unable to Pay the Rent”: What History Tells Us About Rent Control in Los Angeles
The UCLA Luskin Center for History and Policy,
This paper examines proposals for addressing the housing crisis in Los Angeles, that require amending or repealing the state Costa-Hawkins law, a 1995 statute that largely pre-empts local government’s regulatory power in the rental housing space. [Background for Prop. 33]
For Equity’s Sake: Fix the School Facility Program
Published by the UC Berkley Center for Cities + Schools
This report documents the inequitable distribution of modernization funding by California’s School Facility Program (SFP). [Background for Prop. 2]
Crime after Proposition 47 and the Pandemic
Published by the Public Policy Institute of California
The Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank. Their mission is to inform and improve public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research. [Background for Prop. 36]
You can use the guides from these nonpartisan nonprofit organizations or State of California government offices to find valuable information about the 2024 general election.
California Secretary of State (Detailed 2024 election guide)
The California Secretary of State is responsible for making government more transparent and accessible in the areas of elections, business, political campaigning, legislative advocacy, and historical records. Their 2024 election guide provides detailed and accurate information about all the races.
League of Women Voters California Education Fund (Easy election guide)
The League of Women Voters is non-profit non-partisan organization that works to engage all Californians in all levels of civic life. Their election guide offers a simplified overview of the propositions and statewide races in the 2024 election.
CalMatters (2024 Voter Guide)
CalMatters is a nonprofit newsroom covering the state of California. Their interactive voter guide provides information about all the races that will appear on your ballot, and links them to their previous news coverage.
Legislative Analyst’s Office (Propositions)
The Legislative Analyst's Office is the nonpartisan fiscal and policy advisor for the California Legislature. They provide analysis on the propositions that appear on the ballot in California.
You can use the MSJC Library databases to research issues relevant to the election. OneSearch (below) draws from many of our databases and includes a variety of sources such as: newspaper articles, magazine articles, videos, and scholarly peer-reviewed articles. After you have started your search, you can focus your research on scholarly peer-reviewed articles by checking the box for "Peer-reviewed Journals" on the left side of the screen, and clicking "Apply Filters".
You can use the following news sources to find articles and opinion pieces about the 2024 general election.
New York Times
The New York Times is an American daily newspaper that has been published since 1851. Their coverage includes, national political news, the California section, and an opinion section with editorials on national races.
The Wall Street Journal is an American daily newspaper that has been published since 1889. It is a business-oriented newspaper that also includes national political coverage.
America's News (Database from Newsbank)
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. The database includes articles from a variety of California newspapers, including local papers like The Press-Enterprise
