A Short Guide to Writing about Art by
'A Short Guide to Writing About Art', seventh edition, equips students to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculpture, and architecture, and prepares them with the tools they need to present their ideas in effective writing. It addresses matters such as distinguishing between description and analysis, editing and more.
Writing about Art by
This straightforward guide prepares students/readers to describe, interpret, and write about works of art in meaningful and lasting terms. Designed as a supplement to Art History survey and period texts, this efficient book features a step-by-step approach to writing--from choosing a work to write about, to essay organization, to research techniques, to footnote form, to preparing the final essay. For beginners as well as more advanced students/readers.
The Art of Plain Speaking by
This is a guide for anyone who wants to connect better with people in the workplace by speaking clearly and with purpose. It is a result of five years at Charlie Corbett's consultancy, Bullfinch Media, where he helped convince executives that speaking plainly, thoughtfully, and behaving with humanity, is the best way to win business, boost morale and advance careers. It provides carefully detailed wisdom on how to write well, speak publicly and stand out in your job, as well as how to craft compelling communications, make the best of social media and handle the press. The Art of Plain Speaking aims to improve the experience faced by many in the modern workplace, a world where senior management are entirely absent from the shop floor - replaced by indecipherable emails from HR - and where people speak in esoteric corporate riddles, believing that sounding clever is more productive than speaking clearly.
Business Writing by
Book 3 of the Smart Skills series: practical guides to mastering vital business skills and techniques. Using proven strategies from business experts, these essential smart skills can empower anyone with the tools to get ahead. Gain a competitive edge at work with your business writing skills Effective business writing skills can help you win that million-pound contract, earn a promotion, resolve a dispute or generate a significant increase in business leads. Our Smart Skillsbook offers proven, practical advice on how to put over a clear and impressive message in a style that's deceptively simple and even enjoyable to read. These guidelines will teach you how to: Write and format business reports, proposals or presentations Recognise the dangers of poor writing Write effectively under time pressure Use persuasive techniques and structures Deal with all types of documentation from a "simple" email to a long report Accessibly written, it includes checklists, templatesand exercisesto help you work through even the most basic building blocks of good writing. Business Writing provides an antidote to the dangers of 'gobbledegook' and 'business-speak' and allows you to generate any kind of document with confidence. After reading this guide, your writing will be effective, engaging and memorable- a vital skill for all professionals. *** Contents Preface: The dangers of poor writing and the opportunities of good 1. Introduction: Good writing is the business equivalent of an open goal 2. Getting it down right 3. Making language work for you 4. Making it persuasive 5. Horses for courses: linking style to method 6. The brief, the very brief and the ubiquitous email 7. At length: reports and proposals Postscript
Essaying the Past: How to Read, Write and Think about History by
Part research manual, part study guide, and part introduction to the study of history, Essaying the Past guides the reader through the nuts and bolts of producing good historical prose, offering key strategies and useful tips. Includes expert advice on writing about history, conducting good research, and learning how to think analytically Covers important topics such as framing questions, developing a strong introduction and topic sentences, choosing good evidence, and the crucial role of revision An annotated case study takes the reader through one student's process of writing an essay and illustrates how strategies discussed in the book can be successfully implemented Six appendices cover the major issues facing students today, such as the dangers of plagiarism and the role of the internet
A Pocket Guide to Writing in History by
A Pocket Guide to Writing in History is the concise, trusted, and easy-to-use guide for the writing and research skills needed in undergraduate history courses. Now thoroughly updated to reflect the 2017 Chicago guidelines, the ninth edition ensures that students have the most up-to-date advice and ample instruction for conducting responsible research.
A Short Guide to Writing about History (8th ed.) by
An ideal complement for any history course, 'A Short Guide to Writing about History' helps you learn how to think and write like an historian.
A Short Guide to Writing about History (9th ed.) by
A Short Guide to Writing about History is an ideal complement for any history course intended to teach students to think and write like historians. This engaging and practical text will teach students how to go beyond reporting the basic dates and facts of their history books and show them how to infuse their writing with their own ideas and unique perspective. Covering brief essays and the documented resource paper, the text explores the writing and researching processes, different modes of historical writing (including argument), and offers guidelines for improving style as well as documenting sources.
Effective Writing in Psychology by
The second edition of Effective Writing in Psychology helpsusers produce crisp scientific communication, form conciseunambiguous arguments, and render technical information clear andcomprehensible. The new edition incorporates the latest guidelinescontained within the 6th edition of the APAPublication Manual. Clear guidelines on effective writing illustrate how togenerate strong and compelling prose, even when the writing is notaimed at a research audience Incorporates changes to the guidelines contained in the6th edition of the APA publication manual Includes material on how to adapt APA style for posterpresentations using PowerPoint, and for oral presentations Contains a new section on using the Internet to presentresearch papers and a new chapter on conducting a literaturesearch, to guide students through databases, keywords, sources, andconnections between articles Highlights methods for selecting a research topic andorganizing papers Features a sample manuscript showing common deviations fromcorrect APA style and a version demonstrating appropriate use ofAPA style
Making Sense in Psychology: A Student's Guide to Research and Writing by
A new addition to the best-selling Making Sense series, Making Sense in Psychology is an indispensable research and writing guide for students in psychology. Specifically designed to help psychology students gather information about the kinds of topics they will encounter in their courses,this book offers up-to-date, detailed information on writing essays, research proposals, and lab reports; conducting research; evaluating Internet sources; APA guidelines; avoiding plagiarism; studying for tests and exams; delivering oral presentations; and more. Maintaining the same clear,straightforward style of the other books in the series, this comprehensive guide is an invaluable resource for students throughout their academic careers and beyond.
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper by
Many psychology students dislike writing a research paper, their aversion driven by anxiety over various aspects of the process. This primer for undergraduates explains how to write a clear, compelling, well-organized research paper. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision - each step is broken down and illustrated with examples. In addition, a bonus chapter discusses how to combat procrastination. Students learn that the best writing is done in chunks over long periods of time, and that writing is a skill that improves with practice. By following the advice in this book, any student can not only get through their dreaded writing assignment, but become a more proficient writer.
A Short Guide to Writing about Biology by
This best-selling writing guide by a prominent biologist teaches students to think as biologists and to express ideas clearly and concisely through their writing. Providing students with the tools they'll need to be successful writers in college and their profession, A Short Guide to Writing about Biology emphasizes writing as a means to examine, evaluate, share, and refine ideas. The text teaches students how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically. Students are also given detailed advice on locating useful sources, interpreting the results of statistical tests, maintaining effective laboratory and field notebooks, writing effective research proposals and poster presentations, writing effective applications, and communicating information to both professional and general audiences.
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry by
For chemistry or writing in chemistry courses. This writing guide, by a team that includes a prominent chemist, a writing specialist with extensive experience in teaching science writing, and the author of Pearson's best-selling Short Guide to Writing about Biology, teaches students to think as chemists and to express ideas clearly and concisely through their writing. Providing students with the tools they'll need to be successful writers in college and their profession, A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry emphasizes writing as a way of examining, evaluating, and sharing ideas. The text teaches students how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically. Students are also given detailed advice on locating, evaluating, and citing useful sources within the discipli≠ maintaining effective laboratory notebooks and writing laboratory reports; writing effective research proposals and reports; and communicating information to both professional and general audiences.