English 103 - Representation in Film

You can use the library's OneSearch catalog feature or choose one of the library's databases to find articles. When using databases, choose a database that seems suited to your particular topic. You can narrow the database list down by subject using the dropdown menu at the top. Or ask a librarian for help figuring out which databases might be best.

Just want to get started? Browse our Popular Databases list for the most frequently used databases.

You can search for articles by keywords, author, title or subjects.

Combine the following words with your choice of topic to get great results in the databases:

Mass Media Effects

STEREOTYPES (Social psychology)

Role Perception

Social Bias

Social Attitudes

Media Studies

Mass media and culture

Discrimination in motion pictures

Motion pictures--Social aspects--United States

MINORITIES in motion pictures

STEREOTYPES (Social psychology) in motion pictures

RACE identity

The following library databases, CQ Researcher, Issues & Controversies and Opposing Viewpoints, are great places to begin your research. These are useful for exploring possible topics, as well as finding different types sources for your assignment.

• CQ Researcher - Coverage of current events topics, and provides pro/con positions for current issues. You can type in your search topic, browse by date or browse by topic.
• Issues & Controversies - Covers background and points of view about hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
• Opposing Viewpoints - An online database that presents the pro and con of social issues, as well as providing statistics and reliable websites.

Use the following databases to find articles about your topic. These databases index journals, newspapers and other material. 

• Ebsco - Search from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily.
• JSTOR - Full text of scholarly journals.
• View all databases A-Z.