Reference Databases are a great place to do background research on a topic. They include encyclopedias, dictionaries, maps, diagrams, art, and photos. Use the search box to find information on interpersonal communication.
Search our eBook collection directly to find accessible books on a topic.
You can request items to be delivered between the Libraries if you find a book that is not available at the campus you use. Library staff can place the request for you, or use the steps below to place the request yourself from the library catalog.
Interpersonal Communication by
Interpersonal communication has been studied in terms of both communication functions and specialized contexts. This handbook comprehensively covers the field including research on processes of social influence, the role of communication in the development, maintenance and decline of close personal relationships, nonverbal communication, cognitive approaches, communication and conflict, bargaining and negotiation, health communication, organizational socialization and supervisor-subordinate communication, social networks, and technologically-mediated interpersonal communication. Two chapters are dedicated to research methods in the field. The handbook includes chapters by widely recognized and respected scholars in the field.
New Perspectives on (Im)Politeness and Interpersonal Communication by
"New Perspectives on (Im)Politeness and Interpersonal Communication gathers eleven studies by prominent scholars, which explore issues related to (im)politeness in human communication. The study of linguistic (im)politeness is undoubtedly one of the central concerns in the field of pragmatics, as attested to by the numerous conferences and journals currently dedicated to the topic, the various theoretical models and approaches developed or developing so far, and the seemingly endless list of insightful and inspiring empirical studies tackling the topic from a wide variety of angles. This volume contributes to the subfield of social pragmatics by putting together works that review the state of the art of (im)politeness studies, analysing (im)politeness in media contexts like the Internet or dubbed films and other contexts, looking into the effects and consequences of some speech acts for social interaction, drawing implications for language teaching, and approaching some of the linguistic mechanisms which help to communicate (im)politeness. Resulting from the efforts made by specialists in the field, the chapters in this volume offer additional evidence that examining the complexity of interpersonal communication from different standpoints can benefit a more complete understanding of social interaction in general. Their scope and practical applications demonstrate the transversality and versatility of interpersonal communication. The editors hope that these works will retain scholars' interest and attention for some time to come and spark off further research.
Relational Communication by
Relational Communication: An Interactional Perspective to the Study of Process and Form brings together in one volume a full treatment of the relational communication perspective on the study of relationships. This perspective takes to heart the formative nature of communication by focusing on the codefined patterns of interaction by which members jointly create their relationship. This book provides a strong theoretical foundation to the research approach and also offers a step-by-step guide for carrying out the research procedures. It is a complete guide for the beginner or experienced researcher. The contributed chapters are written by researchers from psychology, clinical psychology, marital and family therapy, as well as marital, health, and organizational communication. Several of the studies on marital interaction are based on both American and Spanish research samples, offering a cross-disciplinary and cross-cultural application of the perspective. Part I opens with a discussion of the theoretical foundation and epistemological grounding of the perspective and then moves on to the observational research methods involved in applying the perspective's interactional approach. Part II presents a set of programmatic research exemplars that describe the application of the relational communication approach in different relational contexts, from marital to organizational settings. Part III offers a reflective overview of the research perspective. This book is appropriate for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, scholars, and researchers in communication. It will also be of interest to professionals, students, teachers and researchers in the fields of marital relations and family study, social and clinical psychology, family therapy, social work, and marital and family counseling programs.
Transforming Communication in Leadership and Teamwork by
This accessible, highly interactive book presents a transformative approach to communication in leadership to meet workplace challenges at both local and global levels. Informed by neuroscience, psychology, as well as leadership science, it explains how integrating and properly balancing two key focal points of management--the tasks at hand and the concerns of others and self--can facilitate decision-making, partnering with diverse colleagues, and handling of crises and conflicts. Case examples, a self-test, friendly calls for reflection, and practical exercises provide readers with varied opportunities to assess, support, and evoke their readiness to apply these real-world concepts to their own style and preferences. Together, these chapters demonstrate the best outcomes of collaborative communication: greater effectiveness, deeper empathy with improved emotional fulfillment, and lasting positive change. Included in the coverage: · As a manager, can I be human? Using the two-agenda approach for more effective--and humane--management. · Being and becoming a person-centered leader and manager in a crisis environment. · Methods for transforming communication: dialogue. · Open Case: A new setting for problem-solving in teams. · Integrating the two agendas in agile management. · Tasks and people: what neuroscience reveals about managing both more effectively.· Transforming communication in multicultural contexts for better understanding across cultures. As a skill-building resource, Transforming Communication in Leadership and Teamwork offers particular value: · to diverse business professionals, including managers, leaders, and team members seeking to become more effective· business consultants and coaches working with people in executive positions and/or teams· leaders and members of multi-national teams · executives, decision makers and organizational developers · instructors and students of courses on effective communication, social and professional skills, human resources, communication and digital media, leadership, teamwork, and related subjects.
