Sociology 101: Choosing A Topic

Socjourn - A new media journal on sociology and society

Encyclopedia of Anthropology

Browse the databases below if you aren't sure what topic you want to focus on. These databases cover current issues and may offer some topic ideas. They generally provide background information, as well as a pro/con look at different sides of an issue.

CQ Researcher - Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science and technology.

Issues & Controversies - Includes coverage of hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

Opposing Viewpoints - Provides information on today's hottest social and controversial issues.

NPR's Hidden Brain or Code Switch series and general News segments may offer interesting topics to research.

• Bilingual Studies Reveal Flaw In How Info Reaches Mainstream
• Research Suggests Generosity Is Hardwired Into Our Brains
• What Is Torture? Our Beliefs Depend In Part On Who's Doing It.
• What Pundits Get Wrong About the Latino Vote
• Why Our Feelings Toward Some African-Americans Change On MLK Day

Browsing websites such as Scientific American can help you generate topic ideas.

• Music Lessons Combat Poverty's Effect on the Brain 
• How to Be a Better Son or Daughter
• How Networks Are Revolutionizing Scientific (and Maybe Human) Thought
• Why Prejudice Alone Doesn't Explain the Gender Gap in Science

Why use reference books? Reference books provide you with:

• A springboard to background information on a topic
• Important dates covering the who, what, where, when and why of a topic
  for the ‘who, what, when, and how
  for the ‘who, what, when, and how
• Important individuals and explanation of terms surrounding a topic
  for the ‘who, what, when, and how

Reference resources can also be a good starting point in selecting a research topic. After reviewing reference resources you can develop a plan of where to concentrate your research efforts on topics you want to explore further.

Online Reference Resources (off-campus access requires signing in using your mymsjc user name and password):

• Credo Reference - Credo Reference is an online resource that contains content from reference books covering every major subject.
• Gale eBooks - Gale eBooks is a database of academic eBooks, encyclopedias, and specialized reference sources covering a variety of subject areas.