Becoming Human: Paleoanthropology, Evolution and Human Origins
(Requires Flash and High Speed Connection.)
Presented by the Institute of Human Origins and Arizona State University, this site includes an interactive documentary “that tells the story of our origins”, “News & Features” (which includes book reviews), “Learning Center” (Educational activities—calculating cousins, chromosome connection & building bodies and accompanying lesson plans), and “Resources” (a glossary and lists of related web sites).
General Biology Animated Tutorials
This site contains some 37 animations that cover a range of topics such meiosis and mitosis, the Scientific Method, and simple stimuli trigger fixed behaviors. Each one of the animations includes audio narration, along with a step-by-step tutorial and a short quiz.
Primate Info Net
Maintained by the Lawrence Jaconsen Library of the National Primate Research Center at the University of Wisonsin-Madison, the site combines original content with links to outside sources.
This website offers bird songs, recorded by ornithologists and amateur birders alike, of almost 4500 species from around the world.
Open Textbooks - Open textbooks are real, complete textbooks licensed so teachers and students can freely use, adapt, and distribute the material. Open textbooks can be downloaded for no cost, or printed inexpensively.
CorpWatch: Holding Corporations Accountable
CorpWatch investigates and exposes corporate violations of human rights, environmental crimes, fraud and corruption around the world. We work to foster global justice, independent media activism and democratic control over corporations.
Contains information on budgeting and taxes, credit, financial planning, paying for education, retirement planning, saving and investing, and starting a small business.
Yahoo Personal Finance
Contains information on banking, budgeting, careers, education, insurance, loans, real estate, retirement, and taxes.
Small Business Resources
Small Business Administration
Visitors can locate their local SBA office, and view options such as “Starting Your Business”, “Financing Your Business”, “Managing Your Business”, “Business Opportunities” and “Disaster Recovery”.
Child & Family Web Guide
This directory of websites evaluated by Tufts University graduate students and faculty describes and provides links to hundreds of sites containing child development research and practical advice. The directory is divided into five main categories: family/parenting, education/learning, typical child development, health/mental health, and resources/recreation.
Designed to promote computer science education, on Code.org users may participate in the Hour of Code challenge, which teaches basic coding skills to students and adults who have no previous experience.
Making the Macintosh
This is online exhibit draws on Stanford University Library’s archive of documents and materials relating to the Mac’s origin, development, and promotion. Along with roughly two hundred archival texts and images, the site includes thirteen recent interviews with some of the principal players in the creation of the Macintosh.
PC World Online
The Internet version of PC World Magazine. News articles , product reviews, etc.
“The Center for Responsive Politics is a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy.”
Project Vote Smart
“40 national leaders, including former Presidents Gerald Ford and Jimmy Carter, formed Project Vote Smart (PVS) in 1992. Dedicated to upholding the ideal of democracy and serving the American people with unbiased and accurate information, PVS constructed a user-friendly voter's self-defense system accessible through a website and a toll-free hotline (1-888-VOTE-SMART)”
Latin American Network Information Center
This site hopes "...to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America." An editorial staff selected the site's 12,000 plus URLs, which can be accessed via either a subject directory or a search engine.