MSJC Libraries: Faculty Resources

Library Cards

Full- and part-time faculty must present a MSJC faculty ID card in order to check out materials. The ID cards are free, and can be obtained from Enrollment Services.

Library Instruction

The MSJC Libraries offer flexible options for library research skills instruction.

General Instruction Sessions:

  • Offer a broad overview of library resources, services, and research skills. Sessions typically focus on search strategies for the library catalog and databases but can be customized to class assignments.
  • Take place during class time and instructors must be present. Contact campus librarians at any time during the semester to schedule a session. Please schedule as early as possible to ensure librarian availability on your preferred date and time.
  • 45-60 minutes long and can be held in the library instruction room or in your classroom.

After attending a MSJC library instruction session students will be able to:

  • Select an appropriate database or catalog based upon identified information needs.
  • Demonstrate how to locate appropriate materials in the library catalog or databases using appropriate search techniques.
  • Distinguish between the types of resources available in the library catalog, e-book collections, databases, and the Internet.
  • Identify and locate an item in the library based on call number.
  • Recall how to access the library's online resources remotely.

Library Workshops:

  • Targeted to specific databases or research skills.
  • Scheduled throughout the fall and spring semesters. See the library homepage for current schedules.
  • Take place independently outside of class time in the library instruction room. Walk-ins are welcome, but students can also register ahead of time on the library website.
  • Often used by instructors for extra credit. Sign up sheets are kept and attendance verification slips can be provided to students.
  • 30 minutes or less.

Online Instruction Modules:

  • Includes a broad overview of library resources and research skills broken into six modules.
  • Accessed via the library homepage or linked in Canvas course shells. Contact librarians for information on embedding gradable quizzes in Canvas.
  • Self-paced.

Textbooks and Reserve Materials

The MSJC Libraries provide students with free access to textbooks and faculty-reserved course materials.

Through Student Equity funding, the libraries purchase copies of textbooks and other required books. However, the libraries do not control this funding and do not always receive a complete list of required materials so cannot guarantee that all textbooks are available.

Faculty may also submit personal copies of textbooks and other materials to the library for student use. Faculty should bring these materials to the library Circulation Desk and fill out a Textbook/Reserve Materials form for each item submitted.  

Textbooks and other required books are shelved in the self-service “Textbook” area next to the Reference books and can be used by anyone. They can be used inside the library only.

Reserve materials are generally specialized items that cannot easily be shelved or that are limited for use only by students in designated courses. They are held behind the Circulation Desk and require a student or faculty ID to borrow, typically for 2 hours inside the library only. The library does not accept textbooks under this category. Examples of reserve materials include:

  • Journals and other periodicals
  • Physical objects and/or supplemental items (e.g., geological samples)
  • CD’s and DVD’s (must be licensed and closed-captioned; duplications not accepted)

Please note: Textbooks and reserve items are processed with identifying stickers and tape, which may damage covers.

Please submit textbook and reserve materials as early as possible to allow adequate time for processing and shelving, particularly at the beginning of the semester. Library staff are available to accept materials during semester breaks. Please contact staff at the Circulation Desk for further information and assistance.

MVC Library Circulation Desk      951-639-5455

SJC Library Circulation Desk       951-487-3455

Canvas Access to Online Library Resources

Proxy Server Information:

To create a permanent URL link in Canvas to one of the libraries' databases, articles from a database, e-books or streaming media resources, it is necessary to include the library proxy server prefix BEFORE the URL. The proxy allows students to access the resource off campus using their mymsjc username and password.

COPY and PASTE the following text before the URL: https://proxylib.msjc.edu/login?url=

Example: https://proxylib.msjc.edu/login?url=http://ahiv.alexanderstreet.com/View/734202

For assistance please contact MSJC librarians at 951-639-5450 (MVC) or 951-487-3452 (SJC)

Interlibrary Loans

Faculty can request items from other libraries in the United States through the interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Typically there are no fees charged unless required by the lending institution. Please submit your request online using the form below.

ILL Request Form

Suggestions for Purchase of Materials

  • Librarians accept recommendations from faculty any time during the year. 
  • To suggest a title for purchase, please e-mail the appropriate campus librarians with the following information:
    • Title, ISBN or ISSN (if known)
    • Author/editor/producer
    • Requestor's name, number, e-mail address

MVC Library

SJC Library