It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chair yoga is a revolutionary concept designed to make the numerousbenefits of classical yoga available to a wider range of physicalabilities. This step-by-step program can be practiced by virtuallyanyone, anywhere, in any chair, to stimulate physical and mentalwell-being. This fully illustrated guide contains ninety easy-to-masterexercises that have been specially developed for those with a limitedrange of movement. Clear instructions guide the reader through eachroutine, all of which can be carried out safely without any previousknowledge or yoga expertise. The exercises can also be adapted by yogateachers who want to incorporate chair yoga into their classes.
This book shows people how to create an eco-friendly garden from scratch or by redeveloping an existing garden. It is practical, simply written and based on the author's own first-hand experience and the wealth of knowledge amassed during the course of her job at Grass Roots, Australia's most popular self-sufficiency magazine. The author's aim is that readers will gain the confidence and knowledge necessary to develop a garden in their own individual style to suit the needs of their family, in an environmentally friendly manner and for little cost. Environmental values feature strongly throughout the book, including: water efficiency; biodiversity; soil conservation; use of recycled materials; organic methods; use of native and similarly waterhardy, biodiversity-friendly plants; and avoidance of environmental weeds.
Award-winning photographer Margaret Bryant (Dallas/Fort Worth, TX) makes capturing dog portraits look easy--but anyone who has aspired to take portraits of a four-legged friend knows it is a skill that is hard-won. In fact, creating memorable dog portraits requires more than a good camera and a squeaky toy. Dogs need to feel comfortable before they reveal their personalities. To get them comfortable, a photographer needs to recognize when a dog is stressed and when a dog is relaxed. In this book, Bryant teaches photographers how to recognize subtle but important dog behaviors and provides tips to help them modify their own behavior to "talk" back to the dog and set the stage for great dog portraiture. Bryant moves on to share techniques for posing individual dogs and groups. She includes myriad images to share inspiring ideas that help to showcase the personality of the pet. She also offers ideas for getting the dog's attention and getting reactions and desired behaviors on cue. Finally, she offers both simple and elaborate ideas for setups that might be used when photographing dogs. With the tips in this book, photographers will have the skills they need to handle and pose dogs to make great sales.
Knitting projects are more than just scarves and hats! Creative readers will "get into" knitting with this title, which offers a clear and easy-to-follow look at knitting techniques, opening readers' eyes to the fun possibilities of extreme knitting projects! A comprehensive guide to knitting basics and trouble-shooting will allow any reader to let their creativity shine in knitting!
One Pot Comfort includes 88 new comfort meal recipes with 180+ cooking variations for your Air Fryer, Instant Pot®, Slow Cooker, Dutch Oven, skillet, sheet pan and more. Each foolproof delicious recipe explores new comfort classics and some new unexpected twists but always with with the ease of one pot clean up! Choose your recipe each day, and then pick your favorite cooking appliance - the stovetop, pressure cooker, slow cooker or air fryer. New family favorites from around the world and your own hometown include: Chicken Gumbo and Rice, Sloppy Joe Casserole, Penne Bolognese, Vegetarian Skillet Moussaka, Greek Lemon Chicken, Carne Asada, Sheet Pan Fish and Chips, Keilbasa, Pierogies and Sauerkraut Bake. Desserts, too, including: Chocolate Mousse Cake, Pistachio Pavlova with Strawberries, and more!
More than 26,000 films including documentaries, classic films from The Criterion Collection, Great Courses, PBS and indie and world cinema sourced from award-winning filmmakers globally. Please note that Kanopy requires MSJC users to create an individual account to access its films.
Including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays, this video collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
Contains 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Latin America in Video / America Latina en Video includes original-language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The videos were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as human rights, violence, immigration, illiteracy, popular culture, and political history.
is a documentary that uncovers a glaring reality we live with every day but fail to see. The film exposes how mainstream media contributes to the under-representation of women in positions of power and influence in America. The film challenges the media's limited and often disparaging portrayals of women and girls, which make it difficult for women to achieve leadership positions and for the average woman to feel powerful herself.
takes a close and critical look at the world these films create and the stories they tell about race, gender and class and reaches disturbing conclusions about the values propagated under the guise of innocence and fun. It analyses Disney's cultural pedagogy, examines its corporate power, and explores its vast influence on our global culture. Includes interviews with cultural critics, media scholars, child psychologists, kindergarten teachers, multicultural educators, college students and children.
follows boys and young men as they struggle to stay true to themselves while negotiating America's narrow definition of masculinity. Pressured by the media, their peer group, and even the adults in their lives, our protagonists confront messages encouraging them to disconnect from their emotions, devalue authentic friendships, objectify and degrade women, and resolve conflicts through violence. These gender stereotypes interconnect with race, class, and circumstance, creating a maze of identity issues boys and young men must navigate to become "real" men.
presents a compelling and complex story of one of the most convulsive and transformative eras in American history. In the closing decades of the nineteenth century, the U.S. population doubled in the span of a single generation, national wealth expanded, and two classes rose simultaneously, separated by a gulf of experience and circumstance that was unprecedented in American life.
is an adventurous, revealing look into the Vanlife community through the eyes of nomads who have chosen to live a life of freedom on the road. A movement that exemplifies a deeper societal trend towards minimalism and authentic community building. Two of the central characters in the documentary are Kit Whistler and J.R. Switchgrass who open up about the raw reality of life on the road, and share their lifestyle which they have distilled into an art form. Kit is a talented writer, and J.R. an accomplished photographer who both, respectively, manage to capture their adventures with a heightened optimism that transports you to the natural world they inhabit, and the joy with which they embrace it.
examines the many aspects of the growing "minimalist" movement that is challenging compulsory consumerism and seeking a different path. The authors of two best-selling books on minimalism, Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus, take viewers on a road trip across America that reveals the core ideas behind minimalism and meets people who share their transformational stories.
Sophie is the survivor of Nazi concentration camps, who has found a reason to live with Nathan, a sparkling if unsteady American Jew obsessed with the Holocaust. They befriend Stingo, the movie's narrator, a young American writer new to New York City. But the happiness of Sophie and Nathan is endangered by her ghosts and his obsessions.
Cuba, 1948. Chico is a young piano player with big dreams. Rita is a beautiful singer with an extraordinary voice. Music and desire unite them as they chase their dreams and each other from Havana to New York to Paris, Hollywood and Las Vegas. With an original soundtrack by legendary Cuban pianist and five-time Grammy-winning composer Bebo Valdes, CHICO & RITA captures a defining moment in the evolution of history and jazz, and features the music of (and animated cameos by) Thelonious Monk, Charlie Parker, Cole Porter, Dizzy Gillespie, Woody Herman, Tito Puente, Chano Pozo, and others.
This Oscar-winning short narrative follows a young man who has only one connection to the external world: an online relationship. Every night, often for hours at a time, Greenwood exchanges messages with Ellie. On the eve of their six-month anniversary, Ellie messages Greenwood and tells him that she has traveled to London to surprise him. She asks if he would like to take things "offline" and meet in person for the first time. Little does she know, this message is Earth-shattering for Greenwood, and he suddenly faces a daunting proposition - with everything at stake.
Mr. Hublot is a withdrawn, idiosyncratic character with OCD, scared of change and the outside world. But when a very invasive companion, Robot Pet, arrives in his home, Mr. Hubolt's world is turned upside down.
The loons are back again on Golden Pond and so are Norman Thayer, a retired professor, and Ethel who have had a summer cottage there since early in their marriage. This summer their daughter Chelsea -- whom they haven't seen for years -- feels she must be there for Norman's birthday. She and her fiance are on their way to Europe the next day but will be back in a couple of weeks to pick up the fiance's son. When she returns Chelsea is married and her stepson has the relationship with her father that she always wanted. Will father and daughter be able to communicate at last?
Two lighthouse keepers (Robert Pattinson and Willem Dafoe) fight each other for survival and sanity on a remote and mysterious New England island in the 1890s. From Robert Eggers, the visionary filmmaker behind horror masterpiece The Witch.
Directed by Greta Gerwig and nominated for five Oscars, LADY BIRD is a warm, affecting comedy about a high schooler (Saoirse Ronan) who must navigate a loving but turbulent relationship with her strong-willed mother (Laurie Metcalf) over the course of her eventful senior year of high school.
Sutter Keely (Miles Teller), a high school kid with effortless charm and the self-proclaimed "life of the party," is having the perfect senior year -- until he loses both his girlfriend and his part-time job. But when he meets Aimee (Shailene Woodley), the "nice girl" next door, an unlikely romance begins as Sutter and Aimee struggle to overcome their differences and help each other through the many challenges of growing up.