Choosing A Topic - History 112 - U.S. History Since 1865 - LibGuides at Mt. San Jacinto College

History Database for Topic Exploration

Browse the Issues & Controversies in History database if you aren't sure what topic you want to focus on. Use the American History Eras section on the right to find potential topics.

Reference Sources

Why use reference books? Reference books provide you with:

A springboard to background information on a topic
Important dates covering the who, what, where, when and why of a topic
for the ‘who, what, when, and how

for the ‘who, what, when, and how
Important individuals and explanation of terms surrounding a topic
for the ‘who, what, when, and how

Reference resources can also be a good starting point in selecting a research topic. After reviewing reference resources you can develop a plan of where to concentrate your research efforts on topics you want to explore further.

Online Reference Resources (off-campus access requires signing in using your mymsjc user name and password):

Credo Reference - Credo Reference is an online resource that contains content from 524 reference books covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks - Gale eBooks is a database of academic eBooks, encyclopedias, and specialized reference sources covering a variety of subject areas.

Selected Subject Headings

Topics	Subject heading
Defining freedom during Reconstruction Era	Reconstruction (U.S. History, 1865-1877)
Black Codes, Jim Crow laws, and modern day slavery	Slavery-America-History
Indian board school and contemporary challenges faces by Native Americans	Off-reservation boarding schools. Indian residential schools ; Non-reservation boarding schools ; Non-reservation schools ; Off-reservation Indian boarding schools ; Off-reservation Indian schools ; Off-the-reservation boarding schools ; Residential schools, Indian-
Mexican-American Civil Rights	Chicano civil rights movement (Chicano movement)
Religious fundamentalism and social change	Fundamentalism, Religious; Fundamentalist movements, Religious, Social Change – Religious aspects
The Women’s Rights Movement	Rights of women; Women--Civil rights; Women--Rights of women; Women's rights--Law and legislation

Select Sources for Topic Exploration

Reconstruction: A Historical Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic by Richard Zuczek (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610699174
Publication Date: 2015-11-10
This single-volume encyclopedia on Reconstruction offers a concise introduction to and chronology of the Reconstruction period.
Term Paper Resource Guide to Nineteenth-Century U. S. History by Kathleen W. Craver
ISBN: 9780313348105
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
The provided topics on events, people, inventions, cultural contributions, wars, and technological advances reflect the country's nineteenth-century character and experience.
Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth-Century United States History by Robert Muccigrosso; Ronald Blazek; Teri Maggio
ISBN: 9780313300967
Publication Date: 1999-05-30
This guide presents entries on 100 of the most important events and developments in twentieth-century U.S. history organized in chronological order.
50 Events That Shaped African American History [2 Volumes] by Karsonya Whitehead (Editor); Jamie J. Wilson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440837869
Publication Date: 2019-09-19
50 Events that Shaped African American History: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic is a reference that provides an overview of notable achievements of African Americans, highlighting Black contributions to U.S. history and examining the ways Black accomplishments shaped American culture.
50 Events That Shaped Latino History [2 Volumes] by Lilia Fernández (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440837623
Publication Date: 2018-03-22
2-volum set. 50 Events that Shaped Latino History: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic is a reference that provides a chronological overview of Latino/a history beginning with the indigenous populations of the Americas through the present day. The coverage offers readers background on critical events that have shaped Latino/a populations, revealed the conditions and experiences of Latinos, or highlighted their contributions to U.S. society.
25 Events That Shaped Asian American History: an Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic by Lan Dong (Editor)
ISBN: 1440860890
Publication Date: 2019-03-22
25 Events that Shaped Asian American History : An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic, celebrates Asian Americans' contributions to U.S. history, and examines the ways their experiences have shaped American culture.
Term Paper Resource Guide to Latino History by Michael P. Moreno; Kristin C. Brunnemer
ISBN: 9780313379321
Publication Date: 2010-09-02
This book examines the contributions of Latinos to U.S. history, providing hundreds of possible topics for term papers and research projects along with primary, secondary, web, and multimedia sources of topical information. Subjects such as the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo (1848); the Bracero Program (1942); the United Farm Workers of America Is Formed (1962); and The Great American Boycott ("A Day Without Immigrants") of 2006 are just a few samples of the topics included.

History 112 - U.S. History Since 1865: Choosing A Topic

History Database for Topic Exploration

Reference Sources

Selected Subject Headings

Select Sources for Topic Exploration