CDE 110 Cognitive and Social/Emotional Development: Reference Resources

Three Volume Set

The three-volume Early Childhood Intervention: Shaping the Future for Children with Special Needs and Their Families is a unique, comprehensive, and much-needed examination of a critically important issue. In its pages, a diverse array of experts discuss key aspects of policies, laws, rights, programs, and services available to children today. Examinations range from historical roots to present-day considerations, such as culturally and linguistically diverse children, use of technology, and contemporary testing and teaching methods.

This volume consists of focused articles from the authoritative Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development that cover the research information on common disorders in age 0-3. Topics include those most typically occurring, making them of great interest to both specialists and nonspecialists. Disorders and dysfunction of a variety of types are discussed, whether cognitive, social, emotional, or physiological. Coverage includes asthma, allergies, colic, bed-wetting, diarrhea, genetic disorders, SIDS and learning disabilities, and provides an essential, affordable reference for researchers in developmental psychology, as well as allied health fields.

Two Volume Set

Now expanded to two volumes, this invaluable reference work provides a comprehensive review of all information presently available about these disorders, drawing on findings and clinical experience from a number of related disciplines such as psychiatry, psychology, neurobiology, pediatrics, etc. The Handbook covers descriptive and diagnostic characteristics, biological contributions, intervention techniques, legal and social issues. The Third Edition is updated to include the newest work in animal models, genetics, neuropsychological processes, screening and assessment methods.

This handbook provides an overview of research and theory in childhood social development from preschool age to the onset of adolescence. Included are topical chapters by expert contributors that address a variety of issues including influences on development, the family context, the peer group, social skills, and social cognition, play, helping and moral reasoning, cooperation, competition, aggression, and bullying. Each chapter includes a bibliography and there are author and subject indexes.

Two Volume Set

This two-volume encyclopedia ‘encompasses the entire range of concepts and topics involved in the study of applied developmental science’ and is intended for those interested in psychology, human development and/or human ecology, education, sociology, family and consumer sciences, nursing, social work, and other human services disciplines. It consists of over 430 signed articles from 427 contributors ranging from two to five or more pages in length, each ending with a bibliography and cross-references to articles of related interest. Articles of interest to this course include: ‘Adoption’, ‘Advertising—Effects on Children’, ‘Child Exposure to Domestic Violence’, ‘Child-Parent Attachment’, ‘Day Care—Effects on Child Development’, ‘Divorce—Its Impact on Children’, ‘Food Supplemental Programs for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC)’, ‘Foster Care’, ‘Latino Families in America’, ‘Media and Children’s Fears’, ‘Media Violence’, ‘Multigenerational Families’, ‘Parent-Child Bonding’, and ‘Single Mothers and Parenting’. Included are an author index and a subject index.

Family in America offers two powerful antidotes to popular misconceptions about American family life: historical perspective and scientific objectivity. When we look back at our early history, we discover that the idealized 1950s family—characterized by a rising birthrate, a stable divorce rate, and a declining age of marriage—was a historical aberration, out of line with long-term historical trends.

Working mothers, we learn, are not a 20th century invention; most families throughout American history have needed more than one breadwinner. In the exciting new scholarship described here, readers will learn precisely what is new in American family life and what is not, and acquire the perspective they need to appreciate both the genuine improvements and the losses that come with change.