The MSJC Libraries purchase or subscribe to over 250,000 e-books. Some are reference sources that are helpful in getting background information on a topic. Others are online versions of books you might find on the library shelves.
Use the Start Your Research Here box on the left to begin looking for e-books in the library catalog, or try searching directly from our EBSCO e-book collection which includes over 200,000 books on a wide range of subjects. Another option is Springer eBooks covering biomedicine, life sciences, behavioral health, mathematics, chemistry, materials science and medicine.
Looking for background info on your topic? Try searching for child development related books in our reference databases:
Credo Reference - contains content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks - a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference - contains sources such as specialized dictionaries and subject encyclopedias.
Educating for Social Justice in Early Childhood by
Bringing together scholarship and examples from practice, this book explores ways in which early childhood curriculum - including classroom practices and community contexts - can more actively engage with a range of social justice issues, democratic principles and anti-oppressive practices. Featuring a stellar list of expert contributors, the chapters in this volume present a cross-section of contemporary issues in childhood education. The text highlights the voices of children, teachers and families as they reflect on everyday experiences related to issues of social justice, inclusion and oppression, as well as ways young children and their teachersengage in activism. Chapters explore curriculum and programs that address justice issues, particularly educating for democracy, and culminate in a focus on the future, offering examples of resistance and visions of hope and possibility.　　　　 Designed for practitioners, graduate students and researchers in early childhood, this book challenges readers to explore the ways in which early childhood education is - and can be - engaging with social justice and democratic practices.
Contemporary Challenges in Teaching Young Children by
Contemporary Challenges in Teaching Young Children provides both veteran and aspiring early childhood educators with the information and tools they need to build on their understanding of developmentally appropriate practice. Teachers face many challenges, including family configuration, social and political stressors related to accountability requirements, funding shortages, and the resulting need to teach with fewer resources. This innovative book focuses exclusively on problem-solving at the classroom level and fosters creative methods of ensuring best practices are in place for all children, including those with limited experience in formal social settings and a lack of self-regulatory behaviors. Drawing on current research and their own wealth of experience, expert contributors cover topics from the critical importance of social-emotional learning to culturally responsive teaching to using technology to empower teachers and learners. Written in accessible, non-technical language, this book addresses complex factors affecting child development, guiding readers through the best strategies for tackling real problems in their practice.
African American Children in Early Childhood Education by
Approximately 45% of young black children in the United States (under the age of six) live in poverty. It is well documented that education and economic security are inextricably linked and that early learning and early reading are undisputed contributors to a successful education. This book presents both the challenges and opportunities that exist for addressing the critical needs of black children, who have been historically underserved in the U.S. education system. This book explores the language, cognitive, social-emotional, and health development of black children from birth to age 8. The chapters approach this in three ways; first, they tackle why it is problematic to only characterize Black children's accomplishment in terms of "academic achievement." Second, they discuss the importance of the home-school environment connection. Lastly, they discuss the changes that need to be in teacher preparation in order to ensure that the workforce can practice racial equity in the classroom. These issues are woven together by a call to close the education opportunity gap via 'equity adjustments' that can target educational and health disparities facing the black community.
Early Childhood Education by
Harry Morgan lays the foundations of what early childhood education is by integrating the history of the field with the philosophy and theories behind this discipline. From birth to age eight, when children become integrated into society through their education at school and at home, Early Childhood Education examines the education of this age group from its historical beginnings to the theories used then and today. The writings and research of philosophers such as Locke, psychologists such as Freud, and pioneers of early childhood education such as Frobel, are covered in this concise text. With lucid and engaging prose, Morgan delineates the beginnings of early childhood education and how it has become an important field of study in education today. This edition has been updated to include recent research and how current practices and culture affect the field today. Also included in this second edition is a new chapter about critical race theory and its implications on early childhood education.
Approaches to Early Childhood and Elementary Education by
This book covers a vast range of different philosophical and practical approaches to early education, from Free/Open schools and Waldorf education, to the Core Curriculum and the learning standards approach of the U.S. federal No Child Left Behind Act. By the early years it is meant the ages from infancy through the end of elementary school. While some of the approaches, such as Montessori and Reggio Emilia, are best known for the pre-school years, and the standards approach is best know for American K-12 education, there is more and more overlap and merging across early childhood and elementary education approaches, world-wide. All the approaches covered in this text can be seen in programs from infancy through the end of elementary school, even if each may focus on a certain age within this time frame. We are seeing major changes in infant, pre-kindergarten and elementary school education approaches, world-wide. These changes are the result of several major factors, including the extensive and powerful new brain research; globalisation of markets, ideas, and the Internet; rapid demographic shifts in many developed countries, and a move to more universal education in developing countries and more universal pre-school programs in developed countries. Thus, the focus of this book in describing a variety of current education approaches, with a detailed description of their historical and philosophical foundations and their current practice is very timely.
Promoting Positive Development in Early Childhood: Building Blocks for a Successful Start by
This new volume in the Search Institute Series on Developmentally Attentive Community and Society represents a milestone in Search Institute's signature work on the Developmental Assets that children and adolescents need in their lives to succeed. Through the research behind this book, Karen VanderVen links this strength-based, community-based approach to human development to early childhood development and practice. In doing so, she advances a lo- term vision of understanding child and adolescent development not merely as a series of discrete stages, but as a trajectory of development in which experiences in each phase of development link to, reinforce, or redirect experiences in other aspects of life. To be sure, VanderVen explores with both breadth and depth a parti- larly critical time in child development: the early childhood years, ages 3-5. The latest research in numerous ?elds has only increased our understanding of how important it is for communities to attend to children's developmental expe- ences in these crucial years. Positive development in early childhood leads young people on a path to a healthy adulthood; and a lack of positive dev- opment in early childhood has a blunting effect that extends into elementary and secondary schooling years.
Ethics and Politics in Early Childhood Education by
The early childhood services of Reggio Emilia in Northern Italy has gained worldwide interest and admiration. Drawing on the 'Reggio approach', and others, this book explores the ethical and political dimensions of early childhood services and argues the importance of these dimensions at a time when they are often reduced to technical and managerial projects, without informed consideration for what is best for the child. Extending and developing the ideas raised in Beyond Quality in Early Childhood Care and Education the successful team of authors make a wide range of complex material accessible to readers who may have little knowledge of the various important and relevant areas within philosophy, ethics, or politics, covering subjects such as: post-structural thinkers and their perspectives the history and practice of early childhood work in Reggio Emilia globalization, technological change, poverty, and environmental degradation ethical and political perspectives relevant to early childhood services from Foucault and Deleuze, to Beck, Bauman and Rose. This book presents essential ideas, theories and debates to an international audience. Those who would find this particularly useful are practitioners, trainers, students, researchers, policymakers and anyone with an interest in early childhood education.
Books in the library are arranged according to the Library of Congress classification system, which organizes materials according to broad subject areas. Books are assigned a call number that represents specific aspects of the subject. The call number is printed on the spine label of the book so it can be found on the shelf. If you would like to browse the library shelves to see what's available on early childhood education, start in the L section. If you need help, ask a librarian!
L - Education
LB - Theory and Practice of Education
You can request items to be delivered between the Libraries if you find a book that is not available at the campus you use. Library staff can place the request for you, or use the steps below to place the request yourself from the library catalog.
If you don't find what you need at MSJC, you can search other libraries and request items through our interlibrary loan service. Try UCR's catalog since it is nearby and anything you request may arrive more quickly if it is available.
Use the MSJC Interlibrary Loan Request form to request materials. Please be aware that some libraries charge borrowing fees. We will contact you for approval of any borrowing fees before requesting the items for you.
