It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guide to Genealogical Research: Home
The resources for researching your family story, your heritage, are endless. We have compiled a set of resources to get you started.
Create a family tree, and link up your autosomal DNA results to the tree. Includes census, vital, immigration, military records, etc. Also includes access to http://newspapers.com for an additional fee.
Offers autosomal DNA testing.
Create a family tree. No DNA testing. Offers free access to all record collections including census, cemetery, church, court, military, passenger lists, probate, tax, and vital records (with the exception of some record sets that will require a visit to your Family History Library or the Salt Lake City Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah).
Create a family tree, and link up your autosomal results to the tree. This genealogy database includes census, vital, military, and immigration records, etc. as well as access to their historical newspaper collection. Offers autosomal DNA testing.
Census records are available at a subscription cost. MSJC currently subscribes to this database, but you must visit the campus library locations (San Jacinto, Menifee, and Temecula) to use the database.
A database specifically for newspapers, Elephind's goal is to make it possible to search all the world’s historic online newspapers in one place. They work hard at this, and they’re adding newspapers every day.
Contains newspapers from 1607 to present from every state and forty-five countries and 108 million obituaries. Articles from over 20,300 papers can be searched by name, date, location, or publication title.
This website contains “Newspapers Archive (1690-Today),” with newspapers from all fifty states and “Newspaper Obituaries (1977 to current),” which includes millions of obituaries with electronic feeds from newspapers being published daily.
This is a directory of links to websites with online death indexes (listed by state and county). Includes death records, death certificate indexes, death notices and registers, obituaries, wills and probate records, and cemetery burials.
Between 1865 and 1872 (the year Congress defunded the program), a large group of records (marriage records, land records, etc.) was generated by the Freedmen's Bureau. They are held by the National Archives and Records Administration.
This is a categorized & cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet; a list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online; a free jumping-off point for you to use in your online research; a "card catalog" to the genealogical collection in the immense library that is the Internet.
Linkpendium is a 10,000,000+ resource directory to everything on the Web about families worldwide and genealogically-relevant information about U.S. states and counties. Covers both free and subscription sites, with a strong emphasis upon free resources provided by libraries, other government agencies, genealogical and historical societies, and individuals.
The links below for each denomination will take you to Wiki articles with lists of online record collections, descriptions of typical records for that denomination, directories for addresses and instructions for writing to local ministers, addresses for denomination archives, with collection descriptions,
notes on services available, finding aids, and
search engine links.
Maps (In addition to the sites listed here, don't forget to check state libraries, counties and cities for their holdings)
Includes some fifty thousand editions of fire insurance maps comprising an estimated seven hundred thousand individual sheets. The Library of Congress holdings represent the largest extant collection of maps produced by the Sanborn Map Company.