Administration on Aging
The Administration on Aging (AOA) promotes the well-being of older individuals by providing services and programs designed to help them live independently in their homes and communities.
This website, created by the Dept. of Clinical Social Medicine (Univ. of Heidelberg) and the Dept. of Dermatology (Univ. of Erlangen), contains a dermatology online atlas (DOIA) with other 4500 images, which are browsable by diagnosis (alphabetically) or by location on the body. Users can also search the atlas by keyword. There is also a Pediatric Dermatology Atlas (PeDOIA), with the same search features and some 2000 images.
The Division of Sleep Medicine at Harvard and WGBH have collaborated to produce the Healthy Sleep website to help "illuminate the relevance of sleep, explain the underlying science of sleep, and, most importantly, provide practical information for getting the sleep you need."
History of Vaccines
Created by The College of Physicians of Philadelphia, this website is designed "to provide a living, changing chronicle of the compelling history of vaccination, from pre-Jennerian variolation practices, to the defeat of polio in the Western Hemisphere."
The mission of HealthNewsReview.org is to improve the public dialogue about health care by helping consumers critically analyze claims about health care interventions and by promoting the principles of shared decision-making reinforced by accurate, balanced and complete information about the tradeoffs involved in health care decisions.
Knowledge Weavers Project
The Health Sciences library at the University of Utah produced this site which contains more than two dozen multimedia resources on subjects that include neurology, nurse midwifery, cardiology, and environmental medicine.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
Provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
This collection at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst contains several hundred pamphlets and books pertaining to slavery and antislavery in New England from 1725-1911.
Black Panther: The Newspaper of the Black Panther Party
A collection of The Black Panther published between 1968 and 1973, the newspapers provide an unusually vivid example of the kinds of rhetoric used by the Black Panther Party in its "revolutionary" challenges to federal and state lawmakers and its call to African Americans around the country to stand up for their civil rights.
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive, from the Center for History and New Media at Georgetown University, collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 400,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a pilot project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.
California Light and Sound
In partnership with twenty two libraries, archives and museums, the California Preservation Program is undertaking a project to provide digitization and access services for historic California audiovisual recordings. "California Light and Sound" is a collection of those recordings that provides glimpses and whispers of our state's rich audiovisual heritage.
Calisphere - California Cultures
Selected primary source sets tell the stories, struggles and contributions of four major ethic groups in California (African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans and Native Americans).
Diary of a Civil War nurse
This website (from the National Museum of American History) contains images of the Civil War diary of Amanda Akin, photograph portraits, and quotes from her recollections, as well as brief explanations and sources related to Civil War nursing in general.
Freedom Summer Project 1964
This website, from Miami University of Ohio, documents the history of 1964's "Freedom Summer", which was when volunteers gathered at the former Western College for Women in order to be trained to register African-American voters in Mississippi. The materials here include over 765 documents related to the Freedom Summer, including reports from the FBI about those involved with the activities around this form of civil rights activism and articles from the Ohio press about the civil rights movement in the South during that time.
George Washington Carver
This digital collection from the Special Collections Department at the Iowa State University Library brings together images of Dr. Carver, along with letters and other correspondence between Carver and his colleagues at the university.
HistoryMakers Digital Archive
The History Makers organization and the Carnegie Mellon University Informedia Project came together to create this collection of 310 African American video oral history interviews. Contains intererviews with prominent individuals in the African American community such as Marian Wright Edelman, Julian Bond, and others.
Lewis Hine Collection
The extensive photographic survey of child labor made by Lewis Hine (1874-1940) during the early twentieth century provided reform groups and the public with visual evidence of the negative impact that work had on children. Hine's photographs helped mobilize society against child labor, while providing an extensive record of working children.
Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906
This collection from the Library of Congress's American Memory Project brings together 45 films of New York from 1896 to 1906. The films were made by the American Mutoscope and Biography Company and the Edison Company.
May 4 Collection
Compiled by the Department of Special Collections and Archives at Kent State University, this collection contains primary source materials on the Kent State shootings that took place on May 4th, 1970.
National Security Archives
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
Native American Manuscript Collections
From the University of Oklahoma's Western History Collection, the Native American Manuscript Collections contain over 200 documents relating to Native Americans in Oklahoma, Indian Territory, and the southwestern United States.
San Fernando Valley History
California State University-Northridge's Oviatt Library hosts this this site that contains historically significant documents, manuscripts, photographs and related graphic materials on the history of the San Fernando Valley.
Spanish Civil War Memory Project
The University of California, San Diego in collaboration with several Spanish civic associations, have put together digital archive of the Spanish Civil War and the Francoist Dictatorship. Since 2007, several teams of graduate students have been recording audiovisual testimonies of militants, witnesses, and victims of the Spanish Civil War and Francoist repression. On this site, visitors can listen to dozens of recorded testimonies in English and Spanish.
Theodore Roosevelt Collection Photographs
Harvard University hosts this digital collection that contains photographs of Theodore Roosevelt's African safaris, visits to Brazil, and a trip to the Panama Canal. The offerings include formal portraits, newsreel stills, panoramic views, and even lantern slides.
Utah Digital Newspapers Project
This site contains digitized newspaper content, in PDF format, from eighteen different Utah Newspapers, with the times covered being for the most part the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th century.
Witness: Black History
This BBC World Service special feature provides thirty-three podcast interviews of individuals that were present during significant events in history, such as Martin Luther King's 'I Have a Dream" speech and The Freedom Riders protests. Listeners have the ability to hear a first-hand account of what it was like to attend the first desegregated elementary school, as told by Ruby Bridges, along with several other noteworthy witnesses to history.
California Courts: Self Help Center
This site is designed to help users understand what happens at court and how to access court services. Some of the topics on this site include “Small Claims Court”, “Seniors” and “Traffic”.
This website is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
World Legal Institute
The World Legal Information Institute aims to provide free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law. WorldLII has databases from 20 countries in six continents (at present mainly those with a common law tradition): from Australasia (120), Canada (61); Britain and Ireland (27), the Pacific Islands (25), Hong Kong (13) and other countries in Asia and Africa (6). All types of legal databases are included: case law (165), legislation (45), treaties (3), law reform (4), law journals (11), and specialist subject databases.
Discovering Literature: Romantics and Victorians
Discovering Literature is a free educational resource that provides unprecedented access to the British Library’s literary and historical collections. The site uses manuscript and printed sources to shed light on the historical, political and cultural contexts in which key literary works were written.
Drawing on materials from the New York Public Library, the National Yiddish Book Center, and the University of California Libraries, the Internet Archive has created this trove of some 2,700 digitized children's books.
Shakespeare in Quarto
British Library’s collection of Shakespeare’s plays in quarto, scanned and made available for online viewing.
Willa Cather Archive
Maintained by University of Nebraska at Lincoln, this site contains eight Cather books, her interviews speeches and public letters. It also includes three biographies and numerous photographs of Cather and Cather-related locales.
United States Maps
Geodata.gov: U.S. Maps & Data
The geodata.gov portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop, serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data under the Geospatial One-Stop e-government initiative.
Library of Congress Online Map Collections
Dates of coverage: 1500-2004. Includes cities and towns, conservation and environment, discovery and exploration, cultural landscapes, military battles and campaigns, transportation and communication and other general collections.
Maintained by Drexel University, Ask Dr. Math is a question and answer service for math students and their teachers. A searchable archive is available by level and topic, as well as summaries of Frequently Asked Questions (the Dr. Math FAQ).
Alan Lomax Sound Archive Online Born in Austin, Texas in 1915, Alan Lomax was a folklorist, ethnomusicologist, and musician who traveled the United States and the world recording the performances of thousands of musicians, from Jelly Roll Morton and Woody Guthrie to little known folk singers in Haiti. On the Alan Lomax Sound Archive Online readers will find over 17,400 digital audio files, starting with Lomax's 1946 tape recordings and culminating in his late career recordings before his death in 2002.
Musopen is a non-profit intent on providing classical music resources and educational materials online. The site contains recordings, sheet music, and even textbooks free of charge.