English 92 - Research Help: Find Books

Find Books Banner

Ask your Librarian

Carrie Consalvi's picture
Carrie Consalvi
Contact:
Mt. San Jacinto College
Menifee Valley Campus
28237 La Piedra Road
Menifee, CA 92584
951-639-5450
Website

Banner Databases


Finding Books: the Basics


Basic Tutorials on Finding Books

Helpful Links for Library Books

MSJC Library Resources Guide
A helpful guide all about the library's policies and procedures, including links to great sources and research helps.

MSJC Libraries Website
The website that holds all the resources available to you, including books, databases, DVDs, textbooks--for FREE!

Understanding Call Numbers at MSJC
Call numbers provide valuable info about books. Get an intro to understanding and using call numbers at your library!

How to Find Books on the Shelf
This Library of Congress tutorial will show you exactly how to read a call number so you can find your book!

4 Steps to Reading a Textbook Quickly and Effectively
You need a different strategy for reading textbooks. Follow these four easy steps to get on your way.

How to Read a Book Efficiently for Fast Research
Here are some techniques and tips for getting the most out of a book in the shortest possible time.

Quick Library Search

Search for books, ebooks, DVDs, articles, & more:



Limit results to: 


Advanced search  |  Your Library Account (Renew Your Books Online) |  How to Activate Your Library Account

Search for articles and more by first selecting a database. Choose one from the Popular Databases list below OR browse all databases by clicking on the All Databases (A-Z) link.

 

Popular Databases

  | All Databases (A-Z) | Publication Title Search
 

    

Textbooks/Reserves FAQ

Search DVDs (instructional and entertainment):

Search for streaming video content from providers such as the BBC, PBS and more:

Search hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias

in          

Search for books, ebooks, DVDs, articles, & more:



Limit results to: 


Advanced search  |  Your Library Account (Renew Your Books Online) |  How to Activate Your Library Account

Banner Databases


How to Use eBooks


eBook Database Options

Ebscohost Ebooks

With Ebscohost, you'll find digital versions of books from a broad range of subject areas and topics. Electronic full-text copies of published print material can be searched, such as reference, scholarly, fiction, and nonfiction books. 

Springer Ebooks

This database is a great bet for the sciences, containing over 67,000 titles on topics like life sciences, behavioral health, mathematics, chemistry, and medicine.

Credo Reference

A great tool for getting started with research because it can get you great background information for starting your research. It contains content from hundreds of encyclopedias and dictionaries covering major topics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

To get more background information on your topic, try Gale Virtual Reference Library. It offers an online collection of encyclopedias and specialized research sources.

A to Z Database List

Can't find what you're looking for? Try the A to Z Database list. You'll find descriptions and links to all of our 60+ databases that house scholarly articles, ebooks, magazines, newspapers, media, etc.

eBook Database Tutorials

Banner Databases


Background Research


eBook Database Options

Credo Reference

A great tool for getting started with research because it can get you great background information for starting your research. It contains content from hundreds of encyclopedias and dictionaries covering major topics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

To get more background information on your topic, try Gale Virtual Reference Library. It offers an online collection of encyclopedias and specialized research sources.

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference contains reference sources such as specialized dictionaries and subject encyclopedias that are are written by experts. The MSJC collection contains some 58 titles these titles published by Oxford University Press. (View title list)

CultureGrams

Contains articles with demographic and cultural information. Brief articles cover world countries and U.S. states. Includes maps, statistics and data as well as cultural information such as famous people, recipes and photographs.

A to Z Database List

Can't find what you're looking for? Try the A to Z Database list. You'll find descriptions and links to all of our 60+ databases that house scholarly articles, ebooks, magazines, newspapers, media, etc.

References

Specific Tutorials on References

Credo Reference

Footer Navigation

 

           

Need help? Ask your librarian!