English 92 - Research Help: Find Articles

Finding Articles Banner

Ask Your Librarian

Carrie Consalvi's picture
Carrie Consalvi
Contact:
Mt. San Jacinto College
Menifee Valley Campus
28237 La Piedra Road
Menifee, CA 92584
951-639-5450
Website

Banner Databases


Databases: the Basics


What Exactly Are Databases?

Beginning to Search for Articles

banner database tips


Top Tips for Searching


Refining Search Results
This video will explain how to brainstorm a topic before you begin searching, refine your search based on your results, and manage your search results.

Search Tip: Truncation
Increase the effectiveness of your searches by adding truncation, a database tip to make searching easier

Boolean Tutorial (AND OR NOT)
Practice your skills with Boolean operators in this quick tutorial. It will help you understand this easy search technique.

Boolean Operators Infographic
One of the basic techniques for searching is using the Boolean Operators. Boolean searching is a symbolic logic system that creates relationships between concepts and words.

How Library Stuff Works: Boolean
Learn how to use the Boolean Operators AND/OR/NOT to target and refine your search

Truncation Tutorial
Truncation helps you look for plurals and different spellings of a word. This tutorial will help you understand how to use it.

Best Kept Secret: Subject Terms vs. Keywords
This video will help you understand the difference between searching by keywords vs. subject terms in library databases. This is the best kept secret of searching!

Quick Tips for Searching Infographic
Created by MSJC Librarians, this quick reference will get you the 5 best tips for getting your best search results. 

banner database links


Which Database to Use?


Database Gallery

CQ Researcher

Although CQ doesn't have scholarly articles, it's a reputable source as a place to start building your knowledge, developing your thesis, and gathering your argument--or even choosing a topic! Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Much like CQ Researcher, Opposing Viewpoints is a source for information on today's hottest social and controversial issues. This research guide features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

Ebscohost Premier Collection of Databases

Best Bet! Ebsco is a great place to start searching for more in-depth resources, especially if your instructor is requiring scholarly articles. It also has other formats, like magazines, newspapers, and ebooks, and it combines a lot of databases on different subjects into one search.

JSTOR

JSTOR is another great option for scholarly journal articles or academic ebooks. If you can't find what you're looking for with Ebsco, try this! 

A-Z Database List

If the previous databases don't give you exactly what you want, you can check out our A-Z Database list.

Database Tutorials

Tips for Searching

Footer Navigation

 

           

Need help? Ask your librarian!