Skip to main content

Honors 201 - Spring 2014: Primary Sources Online

Selected Web Primary Sources (U.S.)

  • American Memory
    From the Library of Congress, the American Memory collection provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. 

  • Calisphere
    From the University of California, this collection California history content contains more than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts.

  • Library of Congress
    Contains manuscripts, historical exhibits, maps, historical newspapers and other primary source materials.

  • Making of America 
    From Cornell University Library, the Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

  • National Archives | DOCS Teach
    Keeper of major government documents such the Declaration of Independence and the Constitutuion and public records such as military and census data.

  • Transatlantic Slave Trade Database
    A searchable database containing information on the voyages, the captives, and the places from which slave ships sailed and landed.  It contains maps, a timeline, images, and essays that place the data in context. 

Selected Web Primary Sources (World History)

  • Center for History and New Media - World History Sources
    By region and time periods

  • Gallica
    he Bibliotheque Nationale de France's digital library provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, images and audio-visual resources. 

  • In the First Person
    In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals Alexander Street Press indexed first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes—those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world. The index covers both free and commercial subscription sites, allowing users to conduct comprehensive searches across proprietary companion collections as well as free collections.