Skip to main content

Honors 201 - Spring 2014: Finding Primary Sources

Library Catalog

Worldcat

Use the library's catalog, Worldcat to search for primary sources in the MSJC collections. The material in the MSJC collections are assigned specific subject terms by the Library Congress. These terms can assist you in finding primary sources on your topic. Examples include:

  • Correspondence
  • Diaries
  • Early works to 1800
  • Interviews
  • Letters
  • Papers
  • Pamphlets
  • Personal narratives
  • History Sources

Examples:

  • Japanese Americans interviews
  • Demonology Early works to 1800
  • France revolution correspondence

Beyond MSJC

If you don't find the content you need in the MSJC libraries' collection, you can use Worldcat to search libraries worldwide! Just change the "limit results" drop down menu to libraries worldwide. You are now searching libraries all over the world including the UC libraries, many of the Cal State collections and 1000's of other research libraries.

Catalog Drop down menu

Library Databases

  • America History and Life with Full Text

    America History & Life includes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The collection includes some 1,700 journal titles that are indexed selectively, 230 full text journals and 100 books.
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750

    This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.