Skip to main content

History 104 - History of World Civilizations Since 1500: Find Articles

Understanding Peer Reviewed Journals

Library databases such as Ebscohost and Proquest are used to find PEER-REVIEWED/SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES, not found through Internet search engines (i.e. Google, Yahoo). 

The material found within databases is generally more acceptable to use than material found on the web because it comes from professionals working in the field that you are researching. You still need to personally review material to make sure it is appropriate for your topic.

The following links will help you understand the peer review process and the difference between peer reviewed journals and magazines.

Magazine, Newspaper and Journal Databases

Search these online databases for articles in magazines, newspapers and journals.

computer mouse

EbscoHost -Search from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily.The easiest way to search for journal articles is to select all of the modules and after completing your search, limit your articles to peer reviewed sources.

Academic Search Premier Module. This module has over 4,600 journal titles. Make sure to check the "Peer Reviewed" check box.

Proquest - Articles and coverage of arts, history and humanities related subjects.See a search in Proquest demonstrated in this video. Remember to check the "Peer Reviewed" check box. 

History Databases

Note: The MSJC Databases are Internet based, and may be accessed both on and off campus.  Off campus access requires your "myMSJC" username and password.

America History and Life with Full Text
America History & Life includes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The collection includes some 1,700 journal titles that are indexed selectively, 230 full text journals and 100 books.

America History in Video
Note: This collection has been consolidated into VAST: Academic Video Online by the publisher.

American Decades Reference Book Series
The Fifities in America, Sixties in America, Seventies in America, Eighties in America books online.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Newspaper Online, 1841-1902 – Brooklyn Public Library
Freely available to the public, this is not a subscription database.

The Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Defining the Enlightenment as the "long eighteenth century," the Encyclopedia focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.

History in Video
Note: This collection has been consolidated into VAST: Academic Video Online by the publisher.

History Reference Center
Available in the Ebscohost Premier collection of databases, the HRC provides full text from more than 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 61,100 historical documents, 66,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
With more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history.

Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Covering economic history in all areas of the world and segments of ecnomies from prehistoric times to the present, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History is the ideal resource for students, economists, and general readers, offering a unique glimpse into this integral part of world history.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.

World History in Video
This online streaming video collection contains a range of documentaries  to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content is global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.