Skip to main content

Psychology 101: Finding Books

Finding Books at MSJC

WCLSearchBox

Search the catalog for books & ebooks:

Search the catalog for articles:

 

Requesting a book from the MSJC Library. If you find a book in the catalog that is at the MSJC campus you can request that it be sent over to Menifee. You will need to have a MSJC library account. If you don't have an account, click here to see how to get your account set up. Follow these steps when you need a book from the MSJC library.

  1. Click on the title of the book to get to the detailed record. 
  2. Click on the blue "Place Hold" button on the right-hand side of the page and enter your 7 digit student id# and your library password.
  3. You will receive an e-mail (your msjc e-mail account) in 2-3 days letting you know that you the book is available for pick up at the Menifee library.
  4. You can see these steps illustrated in this short video.

Finding and Ordering Books From Other Libraries

If you don't find what you need in MSJC's collection you can search the catalogs of other libraries and then request that those titles (up to five) be sent to you here at MVC. There is a $2.00 per item charge for this service, that you can pay when you pick up the book/s. Make sure you give yourself enough time because it can take up to two weeks for the books to get here.

  1. Try UCR's catalog. Because UCR is so close, any books you request will usually get here in about a week.
  2. Try WorldCat. WorldCat is the world's largest online catalog. You will literally be searching thousands of library catalogs at once. Great resource if you are researching an obscure topic.
  3. Request the books you found by entering the author, title, etc. in MVC's Online Interlibrary Request Form.
  4. Sit back and relax, we will e-mail you when your books arrive.

E-books

E-books. These are completely online full-text books that are available to you as a student at MSJC. You will be prompted to enter your mymsjc user name and password (same one you use for Blackboard) in order to view these books.

The library currently subscribes to the following E-book collections. Search the one/s that best fit your research needs.

  • Ebsco Ebooks - Collection of about 30,000 books that contains some 1,200+ Psychology-related titles.  Click here to view a tutorial on how to search and browse the Ebsco ebook collection.
  • Springer Ebooks - Collection of ebooks that has a strong emphasis on science, technology and medicine titles.

Reference E-Books

Reference Books like,
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
  • Key Thinkers in Psychology
  • The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology