Skip to main content

Anatomy and Physiology

Finding Books at MSJC





Borrowing Items Between MSJC Campuses

Requesting a book to be delivered from the MVC or SJC Library. If you find a book in the catalog that is not at the campus you use, you can request that it be sent over to either San Jacinto or Menifee. Ask library staff to place the hold for you, or use the steps below to place the hold yourself from the catalog.

  1. From your search results page, click on the title of the book to get to the full record page. 
  2. In the Get It section, click in the yellow bar "Please sign in to check if there are any request options" to sign in to your library account using your mymsjc username and password. Note you can also sign in using the My Account link in the upper right corner of the search results page.
  3. Click on the Request option and fill in any necessary information.
  4. You will be notified through your student e-mail in 2-3 days when the book is available for pick up.

Finding and Requesting Items from Other Libraries

If you don't find what you need in MSJC's collections, you can search the catalogs of other libraries and request that those titles be sent to your preferred MSJC campus through our interlibrary loan service. Typically there is no cost to you for this service, but please be aware that some libraries charge interlibrary loan fees. We will contact you for approval of any borrowing fees before requesting the items for you. It can take up to two weeks for items to be delivered, so be sure you give yourself enough time.

  1. Try UCR's catalog. Because UCR is so close, any books you request may get here more quickly if they are available..
  2. Request the books you found by filling out the MSJC Interlibrary Loan Request form and we will notify you at your student e-mail you when your books arrive.

E-books

The MSJC Libraries own or subscribe to over 200,000 eBooks. Most eBooks are read on whatever device you are using. They can be found in the Library's catalog, along with print books. After entering your search terms in OneSearch, refine your results by Format (books) and Availability (available online) to limit your search results to eBooks.

Each eBook collection can also be accessed individually and directly through the Libraries' A-Z Database List.

EBSCO eBooks are recommended as a good starting point with the largest collection of eBooks on the widest range of subjects.

 Note: When off campus, you will be prompted to enter your mymsjc user name and password in order to view these books.

  • Ebsco Ebooks - Full-text digital copies of published print material, including fiction and nonfiction books, reference books, and scholarly monographs from a broad range of subject areas and topics. Click here to view a tutorial on how to search and browse the Ebsco ebook collection.
  • Credo ReferenceCredo Reference contains content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. Includes medical dictionaries and encyclopedias.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - Reference eBooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on a wide range of subjects.
  • Springer Ebooks - Books covering biomedicine, environmental and life sciences, mathematics, chemistry, philosophy, medicine and more. MSJC Springer eBooks can be fully downloaded and saved; just be sure to uncheck the "Include Preview-Only Content" box to remove any non-MSJC items from your search results screen.

Below are two examples of medical/health eBooks that are available online:

  human diseases and conditions