Skip to main content

Honors: Find Articles & More

Magazine, Newspaper and Journal Articles

Below are just a few of our popular research databases that you can use to find articles, as well as other resources, about your topic. You can also browse our complete A-Z list of databases.

Note: Sign into databases with your mymsjc username and password to access these resources when off-campus.

  • Ebsco - Search a broad collection of research databases for journal, magazine and newspapers articles. For scholarly sources, be sure to select the options that limit your results to scholarly journals. See below for how you can do this!
  • JSTOR - This database contains scholarly journals only.
  • NexisUni - Provides access to a wide variety of national and international news sources, as well as legal cases and company information.

EBSCO scholarly journal search limiters:

Search Strategy Builder

Search Strategy Builder


The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search statement using Boolean logic, which uses AND, OR, and NOT, to combine keywords. Try it out by entering keywords in the columns below, then click the button to generate a Boolean search string for your concepts. While this tool does not actually search any databases, you can cut and paste your results into most databases’ search boxes.

  Concept 1 and Concept 2 and Concept 3
Name your concepts here    
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or