Skip to main content

Nursing 226 - Childbearing & Families: Find Journal Articles

What is a Peer Reviewed Journal?

Databases are used to find PEER-REVIEWED ARTICLES, statistical information, and other information not found through Internet search engines (i.e. Google, Yahoo). 

The material found within databases is generally more acceptable to use than material found on the web because it comes from professionals working in the field that you are researching. You still need to personally review material to make sure it is appropriate for your topic.

The following links will help you understand the peer review process and the difference between peer reviewed journals and magazines.

Periodical Titles

You can also browse a list of the periodicals (i.e. Journal of Pediatric Nursing) the library subscribes to (electronic and print) by subject.

Journal of Obstetrics

Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Articles in Health/Medicine

Use the following databases to find scholarly articles about your topic. These databases index journals, newspapers and other material. Note: off-campus access to these databases requires that you sign on using your mymsjc user name and password. View a short video that illustrates how to search for a journal article in the Ebsco databases here.

  • Cinahl Plus CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 4,175 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
  • Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition This database provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
  • Academic Search Premier The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary (not just health/medicine) database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
  • Proquest Direct Full text periodical database. Provides full text of over 1,300 titles. Subject coverage is broad and includes scholarly (peer reviewed) publications. Make sure you click on the "Scholarly, including peer reviewed" box when searching Proquest for journal articles. Your searches will also probably be more successful if you use medical terminology when searching Proquest.

Health Information for the Layperson

Need to make a presentation where the audience is a patient or other layperson? The following databases are good resources for this type of information:

  • Consumer Health Complete CHC is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
  • Health Source®: Consumer Edition  Available in the Ebscohost Premier collection of databases, Health Source Consumer Edition provides full text of more that 300 consumer health periodicals, more than 1,000 health related pamphlets, 140 health reference books, prescription drug information, patient education fact sheets, 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); and Stedman’s Medical Dictionary.