Skip to main content

English 98 - Choosing a School or College: Choosing a 4-Yr College (and Paying for It)

Find Articles

Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals in the MSJC databases. Use key words and phrases (not sentences). Try synonyms and broader/narrower terms if needed. Possible topics: choosing the right collegepaying for schoolcollege choice etc. 

  • EbscoHost - Search from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. See an Ebsco search in this short video.
  • Proquest - Another large research database that contains a wide variety of sources.  
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - Provides access to a wide range of news sources (includes New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times) as well as international newspapers.

Career Web Resources

Information on College Choice - Library Resources

Information on College Choice - Web Resources

Online Books on College Choice

Book Cover

Available online. Click on the book cover above to access this title.
Click here to search the entire collection of e-books. Tip: search for books on college choice.

Book Cover

Available online. Click on the book cover above to access this title.
Covers 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. & Canada, i.e. their programs...degrees...financial aid sources.

scholarship book cover

Available online. Click on the book cover above to access the title.
Information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies.