English 101 - Arguing a Position: Find Books

Start Your Research Here

 

Search for Books, E-Books and Audiobooks
    
Advanced Search
Search for articles and more by first selecting a database. Choose one from the Popular Databases list below OR browse all databases by clicking on the All Databases (A-Z) link.

Popular Databases

  | All Databases (A-Z) | Publication Title Search
Search for DVDs, Streaming Video and CDs
     
Search for Textbooks/Reserves by course subject or course abbreviation. For example: English, ENGL, or ENGL 101

    

Textbooks/Reserves FAQ

 

Reference/E-Books

 

  • Ebscohost Ebooks (formerly Netlibrary). This is a collection of almost 200,000  online full-text books. They are available to you as a student at MSJC.
  • Springer Ebooks
    Over 86,000 titles covering biomedicine, life sciences, behavioral health, mathematics, chemistry, materials science and medicine.

Need to find a definition of a term/concept? The following online references sources are a good place to start your research.

Featured Books Sources

Contemporary World Issues 

This series provides historical background, contemporary context, and resources for further research about today's most talked-about topics. Description from: ABC-Clio

If you don't have a topic yet, browsing this series might help you find a subject that sparks you interest. Here is a list of titles from this series that are available through the Menifee library (both online and hard copy).

 

                            

Information Plus

The Information Plus Reference Series provides statistical data on 32 of today's most controversial and most studied social issues. Each Information Plus title is a compilation of current and historical statistics -- with analysis -- on aspects of one contemporary social issue, such as abortion, capital punishment, and genetic engineering.from Gale Product Description Page

Here is a list of titles from this series that are available at the MSJC libraries.
(both online and hard copy).

Finding and Requesting Items from Other Libraries

If you don't find what you need in MSJC's collections, you can search the catalogs of other libraries and request that those titles be sent to your preferred MSJC campus through our interlibrary loan service. Typically there is no cost to you for this service, but please be aware that some libraries charge interlibrary loan fees. We will contact you for approval of any borrowing fees before requesting the items for you. It can take up to two weeks for items to be delivered, so be sure you give yourself enough time.

  1. Try UCR's catalog. Because UCR is so close, any books you request may get here more quickly if they are available.
  2. Try WorldCat. WorldCat is the world's largest online catalog; you can search for items at libraries across the country.
  3. Request the books you found by filling out the MSJC Interlibrary Loan Request form.
  4. We will notify you at your student e-mail you when your books arrive.