Skip to main content

English 98 - Summer 2009

Popular Periodicals v. Scholary Journals

Click here to view a short tutorial that illustrates the differences between these two types of periodical publications.

Magazine, Newspaper and Journal Articles

Use the following databases to find articles about your topic. These databases index journals, newspapers and other material. Note: off-campus access to these databases requires that you sign on using your mymsjc user name and password.

Great databases to start your research:

CQ Researcher - In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues in the news.

Opposing Viewpoints - Searchable collection material on current event topics - the facts as well as the arguments on each side. You can type in your topic or click on suggested topics like Renewable Energy or Global Warming. Resources include book excerpts, journal and magazine articles, and statistics.

Still need more sources? Try the following article databases:

EbscoHost Premier Collection of Databases - Search from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. For scholarly sources, enter your search terms, press enter and then click on the "Scholarly/Peer Reviewed" box on the left-hand side of the screen. 

Proquest - Articles and coverage of social science related subjects. 

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - Provides access to a wide range of news sources (includes New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times) as well as international newspapers.