Skip to main content

English 101/Anthropology: Find Books

Find Books at MSJC

WCLSearchBox

Search the catalog for books & ebooks:

Search the catalog for articles:

 

Requesting a book from the MSJC Library. If you find a book in the catalog that is at the MSJC campus you can request that it be sent over to Menifee. You will need to have a MSJC library account. If you don't have an account, click here to see how to get your account set up. Follow these steps when you need a book from the MSJC library.

  1. Click on the title of the book to get to the detailed record. 
  2. Click on the blue "Place Hold" button on the right-hand side of the page and enter your 7 digit student id# and your library password.
  3. You will receive an e-mail (your msjc e-mail account) in 2-3 days letting you know that you the book is available for pick up at the Menifee library.
  4. You can see these steps illustrated in this short video.

E-books

Ebscohost Ebooks (formerly Netlibrary). This is a collection of some 23,000+  online full-text books. They are available to you as a student at MSJC.

Ebsco Ebooks

Springer e-books. A collection of some 23,000 titles that includes a number of anthropology titles.

Finding and Ordering Books From Other Libraries

If you don't find what you need in MSJC's collection you can search the catalogs of other libraries and then request that those titles (up to five) be sent to you here at MVC. There is a $2.00 per item charge for this service, that you can pay when you pick up the book/s. Make sure you give yourself enough time because it can take up to two weeks for the books to get here.

  1. Try UCR's catalog. Because UCR is so close, any books you request will usually get here in about a week.
  2. Try WorldCat. WorldCat is the world's largest online catalog. You will literally be searching thousands of library catalogs at once. Great resource if you are researching an obscure topic. Request the books you found by entering the author, title, etc. in MVC's Online Interlibrary Request Form.
  3. Sit back and relax, we will e-mail you when your books arrive.

Reference Sources

Why reference books? Reference books provide you with background information on a topic, important dates, individuals and terms. In other words, after reading one of these entries, you should have a better idea of where to focus your research and the important topics/concepts/persons that you want to research further. If you don't have a topic, these resources can provide a good starting point because you can browse them for potential topics.

Online Reference Resources (Note: off-campus access to these databases requires that you sign on using your mymsjc user name and password.):

  • Credo Reference Credo Reference is an online resource that contains content from some 524 reference books covering every major subject. There are over 2 million entries, and 65,000+ images (art, diagrams, interactive maps and photos).
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.


Encyclopedia of Anthropology

Encyclopedia of Anthropology - A five-volume collection of over 1,000 entries that focus on topics in physical/biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. The contributions are authored by over 250 internationally renowned experts, professors and scholars from some of the most distinguished universities, institutions and museums in the world. NOTE: This title currently available online and at the main campus library in the Reference area. Call # GN11.E63 2006