Skip to main content

Dance 100: Find Articles & Videos

History and Appreciation of Dance

What's the difference between scholarly and popular sources?

Your instructor said that you cannot use the Internet to find sources for your paper. Instead, you have to use "scholarly journals" and other academic resources from the library. So what does that mean?

Scholarly journals are published by universities, societies, or associations of specialized fields. Articles are written by scholars in that field who present the results of original research and experimentation or provide technical or professional information. They go through a peer-review evaluation process before being published. Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by other scholars in the same field who provide feedback about the article's quality, accuracy, relevance to scholarship in the field, validity of research methodology and procedures, and more.

Popular Magazines

Popular magazine images

  • General interest stories or entertainment information
  • Based on fact-finding and/or opinion
  • Written by staff writers or journalists
  • Read by the general public
  • Easy to understand language
  • Usually do not include references
  • Contain lots of colorful advertising

Magazine Titles

Browse the Dance magazine list. View all of the Dance titles that the library subscribes to, both electronically and in print format.

Cover of Dance Magazine

Scholarly Journals

Scholarly journal images

  • Focused on a particular field of study
  • Based on original research or experimentation
  • Written by scholars or experts in a particular field
  • Read by professionals, students or educators in the subject area
  • Use scholarly, technical, research-oriented language
  • Include references, bibliographies or footnotes
  • Contain little or no advertising

Find Articles

Find Magazine, Newspaper and Journal Articles

Use the following databases to find articles about dance topics. These databases index journals, newspapers and other material. Note: off-campus access to these databases requires that you sign on using your mymsjc user name and password.

 

  • EBSCOhost - Search from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily.
  • NexisUni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) - Provides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times) including fine and performing arts news and performance reviews.

Dance in Video

Dance in Video contains 109 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance. Users can browse by composer, choreographer, genre, performer, ensemble, and role.

Alexander Street Press