Skip to main content

Dance 100: Find Books

History and Appreciation of Dance

Find Books at MSJC

WCLSearchBox

Search the catalog for books & ebooks:

Search the catalog for articles:

 

Requesting a book from the MSJC Library. If you find a book in the catalog that is at the MSJC campus you can request that it be sent over to Menifee. You will need to have a MSJC library account. If you don't have an account, click here to see how to get your account set up. Follow these steps when you need a book from the MSJC library.

  1. Click on the title of the book to get to the detailed record. 
  2. Click on the blue "Place Hold" button on the right-hand side of the page and enter your 7 digit student id# and your library password.
  3. You will receive an e-mail (your msjc e-mail account) in 2-3 days letting you know that you the book is available for pick up at the Menifee library.
  4. You can see these steps illustrated in this short video.

Call Numbers

Browsing the stacks can help find topics for your research paper.  You can find titles on the subject of Dance in the in the GV 1580-1799 range.

Searching For Books Effectively

The library catalog uses standardized subject headings designated by the Library of Congress.  Click on each of the subject headings below to generate a list of MSJC materials on these dance subjects.
Ballet Improvisation in Dance
Choreography Modern Dance
Dancers Sex in Dance
Feminism and Dance Tap Dancing
Folk Dancing

Reference Books

Why reference books? Reference books provide you with background information on a topic, important dates, individuals and terms. In other words, after reading one of these entries, you should have a better idea of where to focus your research and the important topics/concepts/persons that you want to research further. If you don't have a topic, these resources can provide a good starting point because you can browse them for potential topics.

International Encyclopedia of Dance - With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.

picture of ballet dancer

 

Other Reference titles (these are in the Reference area in the Library)

  • International Dictionary of Modern Dance: REF GV1585 .B46 1998
  • Oxford Dictionary of Dance REF GV1585 C78 2000
  • International Encyclopedia of Modern Dance REF GV1585 .B46 1998

E-Books

Ebsco Ebooks. These are completely online full-text books. They are available to you as a student at MSJC.

Finding and Ordering Books From Other Libraries

If you don't find what you need in MSJC's collection you can search the catalogs of other libraries and then request that those titles (up to five) be sent to you here at MVC. There is a $2.00 per book charge for this service, that you can pay when you pick up the book/s. Make sure you give yourself enough time because it can take up to two weeks for the books to get here.

  1. Try UCR's catalog. They have an extensive dance collection and because they are so close, any books you request will usually get here in less than a week.
  2. Try WorldCat. WorldCat is the world's largest online catalog. You will literally be searching thousands of library catalogs at once. Great resource if you are researching an obscure topic.
  3. Request the books you found by entering the author, title, etc. in MVC's Online Interlibrary Request Form.
  4. Sit back and relax, we will e-mail you when your books arrive.

Google Books

Google Books is a project that involves scanning in millions of books from a number of library collections and publishers. You can read about this project here. Copyright laws prevent Google from providing the full text of most titles.

The only titles that have full text are those that are out of copyright. Here is a list of full text books on the subject of Dance. Notice that most of the titles are from the early 1900s! If you want to search Google's entire book collection click here.