Skip to main content

Advanced Research: Reference Tools

This guide is for MSJC students and advanced researchers and features topics such as strategic browsing, finding data and using research tips to make your research process better, faster and smarter.

Definition of Key Reference Resource Types

Almanacs

  • An almanac is a compendium (a collection of concise but detailed information about a particular subject, especially in a book or other publication) of useful data and statistics relating to countries, personalities, events and subjects.
  • Entries contain very basic information and can be published frequently.

Bibliographies

  • Lists of resources on a particular topic
  • A bibliography can be used to locate works about a particular topics, subject or author.

Biographical Sources contain

  • Information about individuals such as the history of their life and any significant contributions they made.

General Dictionaries

  • Contains information about words (general dictionaries) or specific dictionaries such as English Author Dictionary which provides information on the vocabulary of a specific author.

Directories

  • Contains information about people or organizations and are arranged in an order the facilitiates finding their location such as their address, financial information, purose of the organization.
  • Directories can be used to find specific information about people or organizations, their services or products and who is responsible for specific tasks within the organization.

Academic or specialized Encyclopedias

  • Specialized information regarding a specific subject.
  • Subject specific encyclopedias can assist you in finding facts and provide you with a better vocabulary on a topic.

Handbooks

  • Can cover a specific subject area and focuses on established information as supposed to the latest most current information in the field.
  • Cover a limited area and can be used to gain information with quick in-depth answers.

Manuals

  • Specific subject matter is covered and is very narrow in scope with emphasis on knowledge rather than recent advances.

Yearbooks

  • Usually an annual summary that contains information about a specific year and is divided by subject area or geography.
  • While most yearbooks are general there are some that deal with a specific topic and may include statistical information.

These definitions are based on information from Katz, William A. Introduction to Reference Work. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1997. Print.

Online Reference Tools

This page highlights a special type of information resources that librarians call "reference tools" or reference resources.

The Internet and Your Research Paper

Not everything is not on the open Internet through search engines such as Google.

Many of the types of information sources such as reference material, periodical articles, books-were first published in print but now books and article begin their lives in a computer and are born digital and can be made available online. There are public and private area of the Internet.  Google, Yahoo and Bing cannot find the private areas of information with a logon and password.