Skip to main content

Nursing - Gerontology and Medical-surgical Diseases: Nursing Reference Center/General Health Resources

General Health Databases

  • Consumer Health Complete
    CHC is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
  • Alt Health Watch
    Alt Health Watch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles, from more than 180 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters.
  • Health Source Consumer Edition
    Health Source Consumer Edition provides full text of more that 300 consumer health periodicals, more than 1,000 health related pamphlets, 140 health reference books, prescription drug information, patient education fact sheets, 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); and Stedman’s Medical Dictionary.

Nursing Reference Center

Nursing Reference Center is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students,  and nurse faculty. The NRC includes the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full-text documents.  NRC has:

  • Approximately 4,000 evidence-based lessons on procedures, diseases & conditions
  • Legal case sheets and drugs
  • Reference books
  • Point-of-care drug information
  • Patient education information (more than 3,200 documents in English and Spanish)
  • Continuing education modules; and more.

Click here to view an 11 minute video tutorial on using the Nursing Reference Center.